ECOLOGY | GRIEF

Nature Lessons in a Hospital Parking Lot

Displaced out West, I learn from landscaping instead of landscape

Lisa Schamess
The Environment
Published in
6 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Blossoms of the Fallugia paradoxa. Photo by Renee Grayson via Flickr. Used with permission through a CC 2.0 license.

We each process grief in our own way. Me, I like to wander acres of hot pavement seeking unfamiliar vegetation.

Here I was at this Utah hospital, attending the final days of a loved one. The hospital room’s perfect picture window framed the Wasatch Mountains and piercing Western blue sky. I longed to escape the stale air and painful suffering for a walk in nature.

If you looked straight down from this window, you’d see what I was really destined for: wide swaths of parking lot. I couldn’t do much more than ten minutes of threading through the shiny cars and unfortunate landscaping choices toward a street strip full of native plants, on the main road the hospital stands on.

I packed up my phone with its inadequate camera, and slipped out for the only nature walk I’d have this week.

Natives along the road

I’ll start with the best that I saw. Growing along the main road, abutting the hospital, is a xeroscaped rock garden of rugged natives, including White Sagebrush (Artemesia ludoviciana) and Banana Yucca (Yucca baccata). Like all yucca plants, the Banana Yucca has a…

--

--

Lisa Schamess
The Environment

fecklessly tweaking the universe's algorithms in hopes of a puppy. Currently Director of Communications for the American Association of Geographers. She/they.