Why You Should Believe in Fairies

Discovering a new awareness during a magical walk in nature

✍️ Alexander Verbeek
The Environment

--

A fairy tree close to my village (photo by author)

This morning, while walking into the woods behind the ancient castle in my island village, I stumbled upon a fairy tree, a magical portal believed to connect our human realm with the enchanting world of elves and fairies.

It wasn’t my first encounter with one of these fascinating little places of wonder in this forest, but this one amidst towering oak trees surpassed all others.

It was a chilly morning, and the woods, devoid of fellow wanderers in this grey and misty season, embraced a serene stillness. After the recent rains, the path behind the castle grounds near my village on this island was muddy, and the leaves rustled underfoot as I made my way through the towering oaks. I looked for deer since I had recently seen some in this part of the woods, but I didn’t find any.

Instead, I found this fairy tree.

(photo by author)

Decorated with the customary offerings of toys, trinkets, and several Dutch versions of garden gnomes, I noted this fairy tree went beyond the ordinary. Hanging from its branches was a delicately draped washing line…

--

--

✍️ Alexander Verbeek
The Environment

Writer and public speaker on the beauty and fragility of nature.