Wilderness’ Misconception

Can you find a place untouched by humans?

Tiago Miranda
The Environment

--

I never really understood what it means to be in the wild. The term ‘wilderness’ came about as something beyond the urban environment where nature thrives. This term has been associated with someone keen to stay away from humans, visit unfamiliar and ‘untouched’ places, and contact nature. Though, with a simple touristic connotation, it only means all that if you exclude indigenous people. And this is where things turn grey.

As a keen naturalist, amateur mycologist and arborist, I am devoted to nature and my experiences in the exploration field. I love to explore areas where there is minimal contact with humans. Only then I can be at peace with myself and deeply understand my surroundings. But when we call this mystery place ‘wilderness’, we ultimately forget that early humans were there beforehand.

Indigenous people cultivated landscapes for thousands of years. They built relationships with plants and animals, promoting bush regeneration, ecosystem preservation and scientific knowledge on their terms. As soon as ‘wilderness’ comes about, it neglects such actions, taking these critical individuals out of context.

I don’t think there are many places on Earth where a human hasn’t had a footprint yet. I think if you talk to any aboriginal person and mentions…

--

--