My 2018 book list

Giacomo Bagarella
The Envoy
Published in
2 min readJan 9, 2019

I read 45 books in 2018. That’s 5 more than in 2017 (see last year’s list here), probably because I read more fiction and books that were shorter on average. I’ve been trying to read more books outside of my favorite areas (history, war, politics), so that’s a start.

The ones I found most interesting and significant (in no particular order) were:

  • Mary Beard, SPQR
  • Eric Beinhocker, The Origin of Wealth
  • Tony Judt, Postwar
  • James Bloodworth, Hired (which I review here)
  • Michael Lewis, The Fifth Risk

The most unusual books (in very different ways) are a satirical exploration of fictitious lands and an in-person exploration of humanity and sexuality. You should read both:

  • Jonathan Swift, Gulliver’s Travels
  • Gabriela Wiener, Sexographies

Best in fiction:

  • Joe Haldeman, The Forever War

The most well-written (and also an excellent novel):

  • Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad

The most disappointing read was Peter Wohlleben’s The Inner Life of Animals. I was expecting a thorough yet enjoyable study of animal behavior like Peter Godfrey-Smith’s Other Minds and found instead a series of anecdotes from a German forest.

The worst book I read was Niall Ferguson’s The Great Degeneration. It is poorly argued and preposterous. Look elsewhere for analyses on the post-2009 state of the West.

In 2019, I’ll read a few longer books that have been on my backlog for a while (e.g. Jarausch’s Out of Ashes), re-read some books I read years ago (e.g. Duggan’s La Forza del Destino), and generally continue the Zeno’s paradox that is my reading list: it will always be just a step ahead of my ability to get through it.

--

--

Giacomo Bagarella
The Envoy

Passionate about policy, technology, and international affairs. Harvard, LSE, and LKY School of Public Policy grad. All views my own.