Photo by Natalya Letunova on Unsplash

6 Reasons Writers Should Volunteer

Using your writing skills for good.

Alissa Miles
Published in
3 min readMar 5, 2020

--

I want to participate, but I don’t know how.

I want to help out, but I’m not comfortable talking to people.

My schedule is packed already and I’m struggling to get my writing done. How am I supposed to make time for something else?

School, church, athletics, and community groups are always looking for volunteers. Someone is always reaching out and asking for help with donations, planning fundraisers, with manning tables, getting signatures, etc. As a parent and active member of my community, I want to provide help where and when I can. But I don’t want to sacrifice what little writing time I have. It’s just not easy.

Often, volunteer groups are made up of people with different backgrounds, abilities, and gifts. Some are great with face-to-face fundraising. Some do really well planning events. Most of my volunteer time goes to my kids’ baseball organization. I work with fly-by parents who put in time where they can giving money and creating spreadsheets. I’ve got parents who know how to operate zero-turn lawn mowers to keep up the field maintenance. Some people have connections with lawmakers and some are brand new to the area, but can run the heck out of website. It takes all kinds.

Here are six reasons to volunteer:

  1. Writing- I know what I’m good at. If writing is your thing, stick to it. I’m not great at numbers, so why would I volunteer to be the treasurer? Words are my game, so that’s what I come to play. I can write copy for a website. I can write and/or edit sponsorship and fundraising letters. Need a delicate email written to league parents? I can do that.
  2. While providing this kind of writing isn’t what I would normally mean by “productive writing time,” I have to remember that any time spent writing, choosing words and phrases, looking for the right combination of images and meaning, is productive time spent writing. Writing something is never going to be bad for me. Try to see it as an opportunity to practice.
  3. Because I’m familiar with writing in different formats, I can usually do this kind of non-profit writing quickly. A lot of it is boiler-plate, but some of it is fun and creative. I can write copy or an email on my phone while I’m waiting on my kids or during that episode of Scooby-Doo I’ve seen five thousand times. Put in the effort while being realistic. Know that some of the writing required will take longer and some of it you can bang out while eating a bagel.
  4. I like the social aspect of volunteering, but that may not be for you. For someone who doesn’t like big group meetings, or committing to showing up, or shaking hands and asking for money (a.k.a a typical introverted writer) helping through writing is much more comfortable. Depending on your organization, you might not even have to go to the meetings. Maybe you can email your work and never have to leave the house!
  5. On the topic of meeting people, (and if this isn’t for you, see #4 again) the opportunity to surround yourself with people from your community who offer a different experience and skill set and background can only enrich your writing. I’ve met people who would not normally have been in my circle because of different interests and lines of work. I’ve learned so much from these people and I know that knowledge will show up in my character development.
  6. This last one may seem obvious, but I’m going to say it anyway: volunteering your talent as a writer is good for you. Giving back has a tangible impact. Your organization will benefit from your participation. According to the Mayo Clinic, volunteering can help reduce stress, give a sense of purpose, and reduce depression. So, not only will you help others, you’ll help yourself, too.

It doesn’t have to be hard. Only commit to what you know you can accomplish. Remember that writing does not come naturally to everyone. Some people fear words the way I fear numbers. They’d rather read a spreadsheet than a book, and that’s okay. Lastly, be open to receiving all the good feels you’ll get from contributing to an important effort.

--

--

Alissa Miles

Author of MAD MOON coming September 2020; alissacmiles.com, TITLE PAGE PODCAST, Twitter: @alissacmiles & @page_title Instagram: @alissacoopermiles