Creative Ideas and Where to Find Them

Jessa Kaina
Epilogue
Published in
4 min readMar 20, 2020

The most important part of my creative process will always be imagination.

Exploration is exciting in the early stages of a story but I want to keep that spark at every step of the process. Even when I find holes in my story during revisions or I want to hit reset on certain sections entirely. With the progress that I’ve made after drafting, it can seem impossible to look at my story in a new light. Even when I know something’s wrong.

Over time, I’ve created this list of ideas and tasks that help me reignite that creative spark.

1. Brain Dump

Sometimes what holds me back is the many directions and expectations already floating around in my head. Whenever I’m confused or overwhelmed to the point that I can’t make progress on my work, I get everything down on a piece of paper. Even if it’s only my thoughts about the story rather than specific ideas about structure, plot, world, or characters. Whatever the problem is, I want to be able to see it so I can address it.

2. Conversation

While I like brain dumps as a general exercise, I find conversations work best if I already have a pain point or goal in mind. It can take time to present my thoughts in a way a family member or friend can understand but it does help bring clarity to my method or give insight into a direction I hadn’t considered. I try to choose someone I trust so that I’m able to get honest thoughts but still value myself and my story while we’re both vulnerable.

3. Favorite Stories

Whenever I’m low on creative energy or I’m not sure what to do next, I go back to my favorite stories. Usually it’s a movie because I like having time away from words. Afterward, I try to pick out moments that stood out to me. Maybe I noticed a detail about setting and I realize my story is lacking exposition. Sometimes the act of being away from my story to immerse myself in another one is just a simple way to renew joy for the process.

4. Hobbies

More often than not, all I need to do to find a great idea or solution is to stop thinking about it. I love hobbies for this. It keeps my mind active while giving opportunities for inspiration to strike. Lately I’ve been learning how to sketch. It’s incredible how many details and layers are present in a single image, much like a story. I’m also able to appreciate those layers, one at a time.

5. History, Mythology, and Geography

These are disciplines that stand out to me but if ones like psychology or physics are more your thing, go for it! Deep dives into interesting and educational topics give me new ideas or clarify my vision. If you’ve already been basing your story on history or mythology, this could be a good time to check out other stories based on the topic. You could see what fans of the genre enjoy so you can appeal to them in your own story.

6. Dreams

I always think of my dreams as storytelling at a subconscious level, no matter how wonky or quirky. For ones I remember vividly, I keep a dream journal. Each dream might not be a basis for a story or idea on its own but it can always be a library of ideas to file away for later. I tend to seek it out while drafting and revising. It’s a new perspective and it creates imagery in my mind’s eye.

7. Past Experiences

I find the revision stage a good time to relate my protagonist’s journey to my own experiences. It can allow me to shed a whole new light on their decisions, adding a layer of emotional complexity to what I’ve already built. It’s personal and powerful, and that vulnerability could be the encouragement a reader needs to connect with my story.

8. Nature

I always leave this one open-ended. I try to do something simple and local without any preconceived ideas. Even if it’s as simple as a walk in my neighborhood or a drive to the park. I just try to be. I let myself explore with curiosity and an open mind. It also lets me clear my head.

If nothing else works, I know those two seemingly fateful words will never fail me — “what if”.

--

--

Jessa Kaina
Epilogue

When not writing or editing, I play music and try to sketch.