Photo by "My Life Through A Lens" on Unsplash

Which WFH Writer Are You?

Alissa Miles
Epilogue
Published in
4 min readMar 22, 2020

--

Hey, Writer. That’s right. You’re still a writer even if you haven’t written much lately. It’s tough right now. Uncertainty is a heavy thing to carry. Its very existence is cumbersome because it is the unpredictable, the unknown and it’s difficult to wrap our minds around what we don’t know. Creativity can be hard to muster when we’re exhausted from such a burden. But if found, it’s possible for it to be the meditation that calms our minds.

Because it’s hard to find the fun these days, let’s create some of our own. After all, creating is what we do. We’re not all full-time writers. Most of us have other jobs and fit the writing in when we can. With schedules turned upside- down, I thought it would be fun to imagine a few different kinds of writers who are adjusting to new conditions.

Are any of these you?

Financial Advisor:

I’m here (still at the office) for all your financial worries during these difficult times. I know it’s scary, guys, but we got this. I am HERE. FOR. YOU. As far as my writing goes, I come home from work with my Bluetooth hooked up and my headset on ready to take your call. I’ve got my laptop open at my standing desk to add a thousand words to my story, but I’ll take that call. No worries. We got this. I can access your accounts from home. My plot is really taking off and I’m on a roll. However, that doesn’t mean I’ve forgotten about you. Your questions are my priority. Call me day or night! My writing can wait while I guide you through the ups and downs. Call anytime. Day or night. I don’t actually sleep.

Teacher:

Hi, friends! I’ve written a novel after spending all day teaching your wonderful children. I used to teach, set up the classroom for the next day, take my kids to their activities, come home and plan lessons and grade tests, and then work on my own writing. Now, that we’re quarantined, I took a day to figure out how to transition to online teaching, mobilized the community to donate food for needy students, calmed parents’ worries about their child’s learning, and researched online learning resources. I’m also homeschooling my own children while outlining my next book. Whew! Good thing I also have copyediting experience.

Homeschool Parent:

I’ve got this. Hold my organic tea.

Corporate Salesperson:

I have a conference call at 10 am. What time is it in San Francisco? I’m going to need quiet. I gave the kids some Pearler Beads. The oldest knows how to use the iron. I’ll be back in 30. After that, I’ve…hold on…someone’s video-calling me. How do you get DisneyPlus on this thing? I’m going to need the computer. Strategy? No. No, I do not have one. I usually just, you know, drop the kids at school, and then I’m off to the races. Emails, calls, proposals, whatnot. I write during boring conference calls. And in-between calls. And sometimes while I’m on my Peloton, you know, with voice recordings. Now, I guess, well, uhhh…hold on…BETHANY! Where’s my laptop charger? Oh, wait…I don’t have an assistant anymore.

Stay-At-Home-Mom:

Nope. Not having it. I already get up at 5 am to write before those kids get up. Now they’re home? During the day? AND my husband is working from home? Jesus H. I’ll tell you what: the kids can do the laundry, and the dishes, and vacuum. They can walk that damn dog. They can start pitching in around here, that’s for sure. There’s an education for you. LIFE. I’m tired. I’m done. I’m going to go read in my bedroom with the door locked. I’m going to write a short story a day. I’m going to gain a thousand followers an hour on Twitter. NANOWRIMO, I’m coming for you!

Freelance Writer:

What quarantine? I haven’t been out of the house in six months.

Church Organist:

Normally I’d be prepping for Easter services. I must confess…if I don’t have to play The Strife is O’er this year, I won’t miss it. I am sleeping in on Sundays. I’m rather enjoying my little library nook in my house with my cat Puccini. He helps me with the research for my newest writing venture. We scan the internet for undetectable ways to clean up blood. Did you know homemade suppressors will leave noticeable and unique marks on bullets? I found this lovely site with all sorts of graphs and images with details about how quickly different body types degrade in certain climates. Astonishing!

Whichever writer you are, write with abandon. In these times, stuck at home, the rules don’t apply. Be loose and free with your words. Let writing be a balm, a comfort, an escape. No pressure. Just release.

--

--

Alissa Miles
Epilogue

Author of MAD MOON coming September 2020; alissacmiles.com, TITLE PAGE PODCAST, Twitter: @alissacmiles & @page_title Instagram: @alissacoopermiles