Why I Started a New Publication

The story behind Epilogue

Penny Zang
Epilogue

--

Photo by Adam Jang on Unsplash

I was a writer on Medium for a little over a month when I started Epilogue, but I had been thinking about it since Day 1. I distinctly remember saying to my husband that I thought there were opportunities on Medium. Not untapped opportunities necessarily because Medium is very popular, but uncharted possibilities for many writers that I know. And the more I learned about Medium, the more convinced I was that a new publication centered on engagement and community could take off.

I waited. I asked around. I Googled. And then I just did it. Epilogue became a reality faster than I originally intended, but now that it is up and running, I am excited to see what’s next.

About Me

If you don’t know me, the editor for Epilogue, let’s fix that. I certainly want to know you. In a community-centered space, I think it’s essential that we at least recognize each other’s names as a way to get started.

I am an English professor, a writer, and a parent. I live in the south now, but I’m from Baltimore, Maryland where I used to wait tables and write stories about waiting tables. I have an M.F.A. in Creative Writing and I’ve been published in literary magazines like The Louisville Review and Superstition Review, among others.

--

--

Penny Zang
Epilogue

English professor in SC and book nerd. Debut novel: Doll Parts, forthcoming from Sourcebooks, 2025.