WHO’S WHO IN EQUITY’S “ENGINE ROOM”

A group of fresh faces are joining NPC. Find out what drives their passion for performance and Australia’s creative industry.

Equity
The Equity Magazine
12 min readAug 5, 2019

--

Every two years Australian performers are nominated and elected by secret ballot to join National Performers’ Committee (NPC), Equity’s decision-making body. In July, following a tightly-contested election run by the Australia Electoral Commission, Equity welcomed 33 performers to positions on NPC. Some have held positions previously, some are new to “Equity’s Engine Room” or “Performers’ Parliament”.

WAYNE BLAIR, NSW
What do you love about being an actor?
I like the exploration of who we are and give voice to people who do not have it.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
Trusting 100% every night, every minute, every second you are on stage

Why are you an Equity member?
United we stand divided we fall.

Why did you want to join NPC?
I want to share with members on the board my perspectives from where I come from.

Who is someone who inspires you in the industry/has been a mentor?Darren Dale.

What’s been your fave Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?
Life of Galileo [Belvoir Street Theatre].

LAURENCE COY, NSW

What do you love about being an actor?
There are many things to love. On a macro level, it’s a great tribe to hang out with. There are people of all ages, creeds, and backgrounds. They’re generally kind-hearted, supportive, curious, educated, culturally aware and possessed of a critical mind. There are many worlds like this one.

On the micro level, the process of acting — preparing for and executing a role — is very arduous, stimulating and satisfying. When the workplace is genuinely collaborative and everybody in it is aiming for excellence, it’s humanity at its finest.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
The obvious answer is poverty but I’m going to nominate resilience. When you yearn for a role — sometimes one in particular, sometimes just any job — and it just doesn’t happen, you have to be a really tough person. The rejection is personal and, after a while, it can be debilitating.

Why are you an Equity member?
It’s about supporting the tribe. This art form doesn’t make sense in a free market and it’s only together that we can thrive. There are many more talented actors than there are roles; employers can exploit this to drive down wages and our governments don’t seem to mind. They need convincing of the necessity of culture, of hearing our own stories in our own voices, and that a living wage and decent conditions are not something to aspire to… but a place to start. Without unions intervening and interrupting the law of the jungle, we have no civilisation.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I have experienced a lot over the past 38 years and feel I have something to contribute.

Who is someone in the industry who inspires you or has been a mentor?
He’ll hate me for saying this, but Aarne Neeme directed me in the first play I did in 1984 and has inspired me ever since. He’s always pursued excellence, he has an incredible work ethic, and it’s never been about him. He sees the big picture and there’s no more honourable theatre practitioner in Australia.

What’s been your favourite Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?
I did a day on Black Comedy and it’s so clever, so funny, and completely committed to its core values. I loved it. But on any given night there are dozens of wonderful works being produced in theatres around this country.

ALI AITKEN, NSW

What do you love about being an actor?
Being able to tell so many wonderful stories.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
The lack of smaller, affordable venues in Sydney.

Why are you an Equity member?
I am proud to be a part of our industry, and passionate about keeping that industry alive.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I believe that we all have the ability to make a difference. MEAA has worked for me in the past and this is my opportunity to give something back.

Who is someone who inspires you in the industry?
Fiona Press [veteran actor of Australian stage and screen].

JONATHAN CHAN, NSW

What do you love about being an actor?
Exploring how humans navigate through their vulnerabilities is a subject close to my heart. It’s for this reason that I enjoy acting, as it is the perfect way to tap into this first hand.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
When I first started out, like many actors I put all my eggs in one basket. Over the past few years, my challenge has been to learn to undo this and bring balance into my life by having more than one “Plan A”.

Why are you an Equity member?
I first joined Equity when I graduated from drama school in 2003 and, since then, they have supported me in my career every step of the way. I cannot imagine a career without Equity!

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I sat as an alternate in the last NPC face-to-face meeting and I was so inspired by my experience in the “engine room” of Equity, that it empowered me to run for a spot.

Who inspires you?
Anthony Warlow inspired me to become a professional performer, seeing him in my first-ever theatre production in the ’90s, The Phantom of the Opera.

What’s been your fave Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?Belvoir’s production of Barbara and the Camp Dogs.

FRANCISCO LOPEZ, NSW

What do you love about being an actor?
Learning about life and humanity by delving into other people’s stories.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
Learning to deal with uncertainty.

Why are you an Equity member?
To form community with fellow actors and to contribute to the welfare of actors.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
It takes the actions of individuals to move the collective forward. I’m very passionate about contributing my time and experience to the activities and decisions required for Equity to have an impact. I also enjoy thinking about the big picture — both the industry we work in, and the communities we represent.

Who is someone in the industry who inspires you/has been a mentor?
I’ve been very fortunate to meet many strong, passionate, caring actors who volunteer for Equity on various committees and campaigns. Many of them have been giving their time and energy for years. Seeing the impact these individuals have had on the industry truly inspires me.

What’s been your fave Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?
Top End Wedding was such a feel-good movie.

ASABI E. GOODMAN, Qld

What do you love about being an actor?
I love being able to step into the life and personality of someone else, and then using that character to connect with others.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
One of the biggest challenges for me is being able to find meaningful roles that aren’t stereotypical or a caricature of my culture.

Why are you an Equity member?
I joined Equity because I want to help get more diverse Australian stories told.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
As a member of the NPC I feel I will be able to work to impact meaningful change not just for Queensland actors but for all Australian actors.

SAM GASKIN, VIC

What do you love about being an actor?
Doing something different every day. Being around people who inspire me. Spreading love and encouraging people to “feel”.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
Finances and balancing everything out while looking after a family and running a business.

Why are you an Equity member?
I see the power in unity amongst my peers and I am grateful for all the work that Equity has done to ensure better working conditions for us all.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
To be someone who is doing something to help solve the problems we face rather than someone who just “talks” about them.

Who is someone in the industry who inspires you/has been a mentor?Susie Ahern, Robert Sturrock, Mitch Bartlett and Catreeana Saunders have all played huge parts in me being where I am today. Abbe Holmes, Jonathan Mill and Bali Padda have really inspired my passion to do more on the activism front within the NPC.

What’s’ been your fave Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?Hands down, Five Bedrooms on Network Ten. I LOVE it so much.

TIFFANY LYNDALL-KNIGHT, SA

What do you love about being an actor?
I love working with dedicated people who are committed to embodying and communicating big ideas to the world. I love that acting demands being utterly present and connected to other individuals — on stage, on set and in the audience. I love that our work combines intellectual rigour, boundless courage and a spirit of play.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
It’s challenging to maintain a degree of equilibrium and belief in the value of the work we do when it’s held in such poor regard by our government and economic system. Diminishing respect for the cultural, intellectual and social value of live performance can erode one’s sense of self-worth, let alone the capacity to make a sustainable living.

Professions that depend on empathy and human connection cannot be supplanted by technology or validated by profit. I believe they contribute immeasurably to our society; however, it’s hard to maintain this idealism when you also have children to raise and an uncertain future ahead.

Why are you an Equity member?
I first joined Canadian Actors’ Equity Association in 1998. In the Canadian performance industry, it’s widely understood that you aren’t a ‘professional’ unless you are a member. As a young actor, I think I considered membership a badge of honour more than anything else. When I moved back to Australia in 2008, I discovered that the Equity model here was quite different. I became a member this time not out of obligation, but as a choice. I joined because I wanted to participate in the Australian professional community and be a part of Equity’s long tradition of protecting and advancing the rights of performers. On reflection, I think these are better reasons for joining than the first time around.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I’ve been based in Adelaide since 2008. During this time, I have worked in commercial and independent films, fringe theatre, main stage and as a teaching artist with two tertiary-level actor training institutions. I also recently completed a practice-led PhD on the status of the actor in contemporary independent theatre. I am constantly struck by how many passionate, gifted actors struggle to make a living in the Festival State. We are bleeding talent to other cities and other industries. I want to contribute in whatever way I can to representing the performers here and finding ways to help them thrive.

Who is someone in the industry who inspires you/has been a mentor?
Chrissie Page, the long-time South Australian Equity and NPC member, is one of the most inspirational people I know. Her dedication to the Adelaide theatre community, her generosity, creativity, resilience and outrageous talent are benchmarks for me as I move into the next stage of my career.

What’s been your favourite Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?
Griffin Theatre Company’s production of Prima Facie by Suzie Miller and directed by Lee Lewis blew me away. Sheridan Harbridge’s performance was funny, gut-wrenching and deftly controlled. One woman, an office chair, and a devastating story about being a woman today. That’s what theatre is meant for.

NGAIRE PIGRAM, WA

What do you love about being an actor?
I’ve just always loved expressing myself through movement, writing, music and characters that are an extension of a wilder, less explored sense of myself.

Performing gives me a rush that I don’t get anywhere else; I’ve always been addicted to that. It’s my strongest voice in life.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
I suck at auditions. I’m way too nervous and super hard on myself before, during and after one. I’m learning how not to do that. Also, I find once the production is over, post-blues can be quite damaging. Managing that with love and self-care when you’re feeling down can be quite challenging.

Why are you an Equity member?
I joined because when I was freelance and getting back into the industry full-time, I needed the support that MEAA provided. Over the past 12 months, MEAA has supported me through so much and helped make sure I knew my rights as a performer. Thanks MEAA.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I’ve seen first hand how this industry works: for example, sometimes performers trust their employee or agent to a fault, because they assume they’re being looked after and all is in line with Equity standards. When they find out it’s not, they feel so loyal to their employer that they don’t stand up for themselves to create the fair workplace they’re entitled to. Well, I’m here to be a voice for those performers, to help them speak up and stand up without feeling retribution.

CINZIA LEE, WA

What do you love about being an actor?
I love having ideas pop into my head, which then light a fire in my belly to create. It is such a wonderful feeling. Seeing a show you have created yourself, or worked on with others, come to life on stage or screen, all from a moment of inspiration is something incredible.

What is one of the biggest challenges?
Overcoming my own mind when I’m wondering how projects will all come together. When you are writing, directing, hiring, performing and producing, there are a lot of balls in the air at one time, but it always works out in the end.

Why are you an Equity member?
I’m an Equity member because it’s so important to have a voice for performers. We put our bodies, our time, our jobs, our lives into performing. I have experienced many faces of our industry and I know first hand how important Equity is for cast members in particular.

Why did you want to join the NPC?
I have wanted to join the NPC for a while now. I have loved sitting at the table for Equity voice-over negotiations with the advertising industry. I have loved being involved with the Equity Foundation and flying the flag for workshops for performers. Mostly, I love that I will get to be involved in conversations about protecting our rights, giving a voice to those who feel they can’t speak up, and discussing new concepts and ideas to lift our members higher.

Who is someone in the industry who inspires you/has been a mentor?
Linda Nagle (vocal coach) and Keith Hawley (choreographer). I met them both in 1999 when I moved from Perth to Sydney to study full-time at Brent Street. They were my teachers and mentors. They have always believed in me and are so down to earth.

When I was 19, I sat with Keith over a cuppa, talking about performing and auditioning. He said, “Don’t you worry. The right person will see you through the crowd.” That has been massive for me. And Linda has a sign over her door that says “Get over yourself”. I mean, isn’t that just the best?

What’s your fave Aussie production (stage or screen) this year?
West Side Story on Sydney Harbour. What a setting, what voices, what amazing musicians. That’s Australia delivering an amazing theatrical experience. Location, location, location.

View all NPC members here.

--

--

Equity
The Equity Magazine

The largest and most established union and industry advocate for Aus & NZ performers. Professional development program via The Equity Foundation.