A Love Letter to Charlottesville

The Escape Artist
The Escape Artist
Published in
3 min readDec 5, 2016

This post was originally written on December 21, 2014.

Dear Charlottesville,

You stumbled across my radar back in the early 2000s, when I was a high school student in town for a marching band competition at the University of Virginia. It was fall; the leaves were a vibrant pattern of reds, oranges and yellows, the air was crisp, and you were beautiful. But I left and didn’t think anything of you until years later, when music once again pulled me into your orbit.

Our second meeting was during a Minus the Bear show at the Satellite Ballroom, but I was a silly young college girl, too concerned with flirting with boys to appreciate what you had to offer. I knew you had potential; my friend Amanda would not stop raving about you. We almost spent a summer together, but I decided to pass on the opportunity and graduate early instead.

Our paths crossed several times in 2009 and 2010. When I visited Amanda, I would visit you, and you introduced me to your friends the Virginia Film Festival, Mas, Enoteca, and The Jefferson. We fell in love hiking on the Appalachian Trail and sipping wine at Blenheim. Being around you gave me a sense of peace that I didn’t have living in the suburbs of Hampton Roads.

It was June 2011 when I finally made the move to be with you for graduate school. You taught me how to think critically and care about things outside of myself. For the first time, I was challenged, humbled, and realized that I had so much to learn about the world.

You stood by as I struggled, underemployed and uncertain about the future. A newlywed, I worked three jobs and ran my own business as my partner commuted 90 minutes both ways for work each day, still making almost three times my salary. I felt so inadequate, and I spent many nights wondering if I made a mistake choosing you.

Things eventually turned around, but it wasn’t until 2014 that you finally helped me find my voice. You gave me the courage to go to Spain and traverse through Andalucia by myself. You introduced me to Live Arts and reminded me of how much I loved the performing arts, and how in my element I am around theater and film. You gave me the confidence to know that I could be artistic, intellectual and make a difference in my community at the same time. And you surrounded me with love and support when I experienced the biggest failure of my life: the dissolution of my marriage.

I’m imperfect and I still have so much to learn, but Charlottesville, you encouraged me to start asking the right questions, to know my strengths and weaknesses, and most importantly, to be truthful with myself and to those that I love.

So it is with a heavy heart that I say farewell to you, Charlottesville. I’ve grown up so much alongside you, but it’s time for me to find my own way and give the big city a try. This is not goodbye forever; if Chicago becomes too overwhelming, you’ll be the first (or second or third) place I’ll come home to. Although I may have to check Seattle, Portland and San Francisco out before that. But if those places don’t work out — it’s all you.

Here’s to moving forward, to having more honest and selfless relationships, and to changing the world through education and film.

Thank you, Charlottesville, for everything you’ve given me these past 3.5 years. I’m a better person because of you.

Love always,
F

--

--

The Escape Artist
The Escape Artist

Adept at gracefully exiting situations that no longer make sense. Struggles with the human condition. That’s not the whole story. I’ll change my mind again.