Blessed Is The Fruit Of Thy Womb, Or Why I Ran Out On My Moon Mother Workshop

Aisling Walsh
The Establishment
Published in
11 min readMar 16, 2018

--

Why did a workshop designed to make me feel comfortable with my body leave me feeling so gross?

II t was a long and winding road that led me to the basement of a 19th century stately house in Brussels for my initiation. Lined along a narrow stairwell leading down to the basement with 40 or so other women, all in bare feet, all waiting in silent awe for Miranda Gray to personally welcome us into the Moon Mother sisterhood, I began to wonder, how did I get here? And why had I already begun to wish I had never come?

It all started with my 10-year devotion to hormonal birth control. To me it was man’s greatest invention, providing welcome relief from monthly cramps that left me prostrate in bed for three days, alternately fainting or vomiting. At 28, however, I had the sudden impulse to find a more natural solution to my menstrual woes. I came off the pill, bought myself a menstrual cup, and began exploring yoga, herbs, a life without coffee (temporarily), full moon circles, Red Tents, and natural gynecology workshops. I read everything I could get my hands on that promised to reset my dysfunctional cycle, including Red Moon by Miranda Gray.

--

--

Aisling Walsh
The Establishment

Writer/Translator/Reasercher Fiction Reader at Anomaly Litmag Proud #NeuroQueer (She/Her) I write about movies and neurodivergence at: autcasts.substack.com