Coming Out As Genderqueer

Eloise LeBel
The Establishment
Published in
7 min readApr 11, 2017

--

It’s time for me to join and shout and fight in the gender revolution we now find ourselves in.

FFirst I was a tomboy. Then a teenybopper, a bisexual woman, a drag queen. Through my life I have struggled to find the right words, the right explanation for what I really am: a genderqueer, non-binary person, no gender and all genders at once. Just a straight-up, dope-ass li’l human who gets creative, spiritual, and sexual joy from performing femininity but can’t and won’t be limited by what that performance implies. I’ve known who I was on an essential level for many, many years, but now, as a 31-year-old Californian on antidepressants just out here trying to make a life writing about cumming, I’m finally coming out. While I am afraid of what could happen as a result in this new, impossibly unpredictable world, I refuse to be cowed.

My pronouns are they/them. For a long time I thought that since I’m comfortable in my feminine body, that since the world reads me loud and clear as a woman, I shouldn’t rock the boat. That I shouldn’t make other people have to put in the small amount of work it takes to gender me correctly. But I am done hiding. I am done keeping the boat steady at the expense of my own truth. I see trans folk getting murdered at a horrifying rate, I see non-binary friends being denied surgery because…

--

--