Disability Rights Are Conspicuously Absent From The Women’s March Platform

Emily Ladau
The Establishment
Published in
13 min readJan 16, 2017

--

Pexels

Disability rights must always have a seat at the social justice table.

IIhave been keeping up with the important work of the Women’s March on Washington since I heard the internet’s first rumblings about the event following the election of Donald Trump as president. I did not choose to get involved in planning, either nationally or locally, instead focusing on other forms of social justice activism, including writing, public speaking, podcasting, and calling legislators. But as January 21, the day of the march, neared, I started to contemplate attending — either in Washington, D.C. or New York City, one of several cities hosting its own event that day.

Concerned about accessibility, I visited the websites for the marches in both locations, relieved to see sections on each site dedicated to accessibility FAQs. I also felt reassured that some incredible disabled women I know are volunteering and organizing behind the scenes, and that several of my friends with disabilities will be joining marches around the country.

A few days later, I was excited, albeit slightly taken aback, when the official Women’s March account followed me on Twitter. (Okay, I had a dance party.)

--

--

Emily Ladau
The Establishment

I live life on wheels & write about it. Disability rights are my passion. Defender of pumpkin spice, drinker of too many chai lattes, turquoise over-enthusiast.