Deactivate Your Facebook Account In Just 3 Easy Clicks

By Julia Phillips

Please note that whatever answer you select, we will explain to you why that is wrong.

Would you like to deactivate your account?

Deactivating your account will disable your profile. Your name and photo will be removed from most of Facebook. Are you sure you want to continue?

You are?

All right.

Click here to deactivate your account.

Please re-enter your password to continue.

Are you sure you want to deactivate your account? Deactivating your account will disable your profile. We ask again because we’re concerned you don’t fully grasp the implications here. Your name — gone. Profile pictures — Godspeed. Remember that video about sleepy puppies you posted in February 2013? We do. But if your profile is disabled, that video disappears.

Your friends will no longer be able to keep in touch with you. Here is a row with five of their pictures. Dennis will miss you. Max will miss you. Sophia will miss you. Nico will miss you. Sarah will miss you.

Send Dennis a message. Send Max a message. Send Sophia a message. Send Nico a message. Send Sarah a message.

Oh, you haven’t spoken to Sarah since you graduated high school? Isn’t now an awfully good time to get in touch? It’s 12:40 a.m. on a Tuesday and you’re shame-deleting your Facebook profile. Reach out.

Fine. Don’t.

Please select your reason for leaving.

An answer is required.

Please note that whatever answer you select, we will explain to you why that is wrong.

You have selected “I have a privacy concern.” Please remember that you can always control the information that you share on Facebook. Click here to learn how privacy works.

You have selected “I spend too much time using Facebook.” One way to control your interaction with Facebook is to limit the number of emails you receive from us. You can control your email settings by clicking here. We are repeating the word “control” to emphasize that you do not, despite your fears, have an Internet addiction.

You have selected “This is temporary. I’ll be back.” We know.

Please understand that even after you deactivate, your friends can still invite you to events, tag you in photos, or ask you to join groups. You’re still in it, you know. Whether you click that button or not, you’re part of our enormous group of friends. Such good friends! Dennis. Max. Sophia. Nico. Sarah. We’ll all miss you. Stay.

Click here to deactivate.

Are you sure you want to deactivate your account?

Click here to deactivate now.

Your account has been deactivated. This has had the same effect as logging out of the site. To reactivate, simply log back in.

We’ll be waiting.

Like what you read? Give The Establishment a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.

Responses
The author has chosen not to show responses on this story. You can still respond by clicking the response bubble.