The ‘Flexible’ Life Of Female Academics Is A Myth

The Establishment
The Establishment
Published in
7 min readMay 7, 2017

--

By Eileen Kane

Academic mothers need relief from grossly inadequate support systems that deprive them of a fair shot at successful careers.

II n the now-viral clip of political science professor Robert E. Kelly’s BBC interview-gone-wrong from his home office, two toddlers crash through the door in the background, and slapstick hilarity ensues. Kelly’s harried wife rushes in and herds the tiny creatures out of the room, crawls on the floor, grabs for the knob and disappears behind the slammed door. Kelly, eyes closed, remains in the frame looking mortified in his necktie and blazer.

A professor and parent to two young daughters, I see shades of my life in this funny clip — to a point. I, too, have locked myself in my home office for phone interviews, trying to sound focused and serious while praying that no toddler fists beat down the door, or high-pitched shrieks blow my cover of working from home.

But I’ve done this without a wife to run interference. I have a husband who’s an excellent father, but when I’m working, he’s at work too. And because I had my first child as a contingent faculty member, ineligible for the university’s maternity leave, breastfed each baby for a year as recommended by the…

--

--

The Establishment
The Establishment

The conversation is much more interesting when everyone has a voice. Media funded & run by women; new content daily.