The Path Of Living With Chronic Illness

The Establishment
The Establishment
Published in
6 min readJul 10, 2016

--

By Lauren Jonik

flickr/Jamie

“Where do you see yourself in five or 10 years?” Erik asked as we waited for his business partner’s arrival. Dishes clanking and the collective chatter of other diners filled the air. “Beautiful Day” by U2 echoed from the speakers high above the din in an Irish pub in Brooklyn on a late Spring evening. The dark wood of the decor contrasted with the light I saw everywhere in everything. Success was close, it just had to be.

When Axel arrived, I had already answered. “Oh, I want to be married with a baby.” Erik’s stunned expression revealed that I was not yet considered a New York professional woman. I was a naïve, 27-year-old from the suburbs of Philadelphia who hadn’t even graduated from high school. I succeeded adeptly, however, in avoiding explaining why. Real women don’t fall ill with chronic illnesses when they are 14 and have to drop out of ninth grade.

“I meant, where do you see yourself in our company,” Erik clarified pointedly. Cheeks flushing, I was grateful the lighting was dim.

“Hi guys! What will you have tonight? Oh hi, Erik,” a perky blond waitress holding a small notepad bounded over to our table at just the right moment.

Though I had been working as a freelance music journalist, I was eager to join the music management firm and work in…

--

--

The Establishment
The Establishment

The conversation is much more interesting when everyone has a voice. Media funded & run by women; new content daily.