The Radical Healing Power Of Somatic Sexual Wholeness Therapy

Kimberly Nichols
The Establishment
Published in
12 min readDec 6, 2016

--

Content warning: sexual abuse

After my fourth and final session with Los Angeles-based somatic sexual wholeness provider Rahi Chun, he left the room per normal to let me dress. Instead of curling into a fetal position on the massage table as per usual, my body splayed languidly like a swath of cooling lava, legs akimbo.

“My body splayed languidly like a swath of cooling lava, legs akimbo.”_

I felt like a living embodiment of Gustave Courbet’s painting “Origin of the World”; it depicts a provocatively realistic vagina front and center on the canvas. Although I had come seeking a cure for my inability to orgasm, I now understood that orgasm was secondary, a glorious perk to what I really needed, which was to remember how to be fully present within my own skin.

Courbet’s ‘Origin of the World’ (Credit: flickr/Daniele Dalledonne)

How many go through life not feeling truly present in their bodies? How many know that something is missing? The radical new world of somatic sexual wholeness proposes the answer can be found in the vagina, wrapped within an intricate web of nerves.

“How many go through life not feeling truly present in their bodies?”_

I started my own journey toward healing my deepest sexual wounds in my twenties. Over the years I developed a keen intellectual understanding…

--

--

Kimberly Nichols
The Establishment

Writer, artist, social anthropologist, culture dissector. Author of Mad Anatomy. www.kimberlynicholsstudio.com.