White Women: This Is Why Your Critiques Of Beyoncé Are Racist

Lara Witt
The Establishment
Published in
5 min readFeb 4, 2017

--

Do not ever shame a black woman for announcing her pregnancy.

TThe world feels exceptionally shitty. Given that I am only 28, my experience is limited, but this is as gloomy as I’ve ever known the world to feel. I haven’t been able to write much because I’ve been tired and afraid for over two weeks.

But then, for a miraculous 24 hours or so, I was happy! We were happy! Why? Because Beyoncé Giselle Knowles-Carter announced that she is pregnant with twins! TWINS. She didn’t do it in a boring, pedestrian way, no. She gave us a glorious photoshoot to share and adore.

Of course we can’t enjoy anything on this dumpster-fuck planet, because not hours later came tweets and posts criticizing people for being happy. Apparently we’re not allowed to simultaneously enjoy good news while being fully aware of how many of us are going to be affected by a Trump presidency.

Of course we can’t enjoy anything on this dumpster-fuck planet.

--

--