Why White America Demonizes The #BlackLivesMatter Movement — And Why That Must Change

The Establishment
The Establishment
Published in
12 min readFeb 18, 2017

--

By Sincere Kirabo

Here are the four main reasons why people dislike BLM social justice activists.

UU p until a few years ago, I used to view racism the same way I think a lot of people still do. There were numerous times I, as a Black man, was treated differently than my white friends, or I ran into situations where I was approached as if I were a threat when it wasn’t warranted.

Despite this, I felt racism “wasn’t that bad,” and I would shrug off these occasions without really giving them any serious thought.

When I became frustrated by mistreatment, I would rationalize and ultimately dismiss my bitterness by thinking about “how far we’ve come” as a country when compared to the days of KKK prominence and the Civil Rights Era.

Then Trayvon Martin was murdered.

I saw the way this 17-year-old boy was portrayed as a “thug” by news sources and how his character was assassinated all over social media. It was horrifying to see how easily people trivialized and even mocked the value of life when it was attached to blackness. Still, I said nothing.

It was horrifying to see how easily people…

--

--

The Establishment
The Establishment

The conversation is much more interesting when everyone has a voice. Media funded & run by women; new content daily.