It’s Never Too Late

Donald Villamero
Donald Villamero’s Blog
2 min readSep 12, 2017

Today I got to reflect on how it’s never too late to be someone who we’ve always wanted to be.

For so long we have to compromise what’s truly in our hearts and even sabotage ourselves to live a decent, comfortable, okay life. We have to pay the bills! And you know what? That’s all right.

What I realized now is that giving ourselves a chance to be our most authentic, happy selves does not mean us giving up everything we have right now. It doesn’t have to be that drastic. We can already start by doing little things that speak through to our inner being.

Yesterday, a student from the dance class I’m teaching asked me if “I believe anyone can dance.” I found out that her mother always wanted to do it but has never gotten the chance to. And I said “absolutely”!

Age, status, education, or any other disadvantage we may think we have, has no hold of our dreams, of our passion, of the person we’ve always wanted to become. Nothing can stop us.

There are a lot of dance schools around you if what you’ve always wanted to become is a dancer. Go take that class. You can blog if you’ve always dreamed of being a writer. You go write on the topics you strongly care about. You can walk into any music school if the dream of being a musician is still haunting you. Go and enroll yourself.

It’s really about courage. It’s about going out of our comfort zone. It’s about being a child again. Because here’s a thought: maybe life isn’t really unfair. Maybe life is how we dance to its beat and how we enjoy it being our true selves regardless of what became of us.

Thank you for reading! If you like to read more of my positive thoughts, please do follow. Have an awesome day!

--

--

Donald Villamero
Donald Villamero’s Blog

I’m a book advocate. I’m the founder of DCO Publishing, a start-up publishing house in Cebu City, Philippines.