Ethereans NFT Photography Galley.

The Ethereans
The Ethereans
Published in
10 min readNov 22, 2021

The Ethereans embrace NFT photography!

Hello everyone, after a long time of communications and remodeling of our land in Cryptovoxels during these past days, we can finally communicate the official opening of our Ethereans NFT Photography Gallery. (https://www.cryptovoxels.com/play?coords=S@435E,112S).

In our Ethereans community, we bet on NFT photography and its future, so we have decided to carry out an exhibition in our land of Cryptovoxels that allows knowing more in-depth about the work of some of our community photographers and more professionals with an extended background in this world. Fourteen artists will be exhibiting during these first days and through this article, we will explain in more detail their story, both as photographers and about their collection and photographs exhibited, since we firmly believe that photography goes beyond pressing the button. It is the story behind it, the process that can turn a normal photograph into an excellent one. Don’t hesitate to come and visit our land and if you like any photograph support the photographers and their work!

Meet the artists!

Aimos Vasquez (@iamaimos)

You may be familiar with Aimos Vasquez from the extremely iconic black and white photo that he took of XXXTentacion. The photo is currently the only photo left on X’s Instagram, the third most-liked photo, and the second most commented photo in Instagram history. The photo was placed in a collection of his concert photos entitled: “Now Crediting: Aimos”, and was auctioned as an NFT. The pictures used in this gallery are not minted yet.

Alejandro Cartagena (@halecar2)

Alejandro Cartagena works with photography and video to explore issues of identity, place, and the environment. He is the creator of The 50 Carpoolers. His interests are the cultural meaning of photography. Collector of NFTs. His work is part of museum collections like SFMoMA, MoCP, MFAH, Getty Museum.

Bliss #8& “Bliss #16”. “In 2014, I documented the blissful moments of people and crowds in the middle of a live music concert. I wanted to feel their bliss. In retrospect, these are a self-portrait of someone he wanted to be: young, excited, and free. I asked the dancers to dance as if no one was watching to a tune in their heads. Now, in 2021, what I captured in these images feels like a time long passed — a time where we all were experiencing bliss. The 21 pieces that make up The Bliss Project are a symbolic gesture to portray our lives before the pandemic and to project optimism about the future.

Brian Bixby (@brian_bixby)

Forbidden Colours #20; Forbidden Colours #9” & “Forbidden Colours #5

For “Forbidden Colours” he photographed a series of abstract landscapes using a variety of household materials such as gelatin, shampoo, glitter, and acrylic paint. In this series of medium format analog photographs, the still life is reinterpreted in an abstract fashion. The ephemeral materials melt quickly under the heat of the lights, so he must capture each image before it disappears.

The title Forbidden Colours is a reference to Maholy-Nagy’s Neues Sehen (New Vision), a term he coined based on his belief that the camera could create an entirely new way of seeing the outside world that the human eye could not. This series was developed at the Bauhaus University in Weimar, Germany.

Cooper Ray (@_cooperray_)

CITY BLOCKS #32. Flatiron Blizzard”; “CITY BLOCKS #28. Grand Central” & “CITY BLOCKS #29. Going Up”.

This collection of photographs represents my deep interest in the history of the place, architecture, and the advent of the skyscraper in the early 20th century. CITY BLOCKS is the result of my cumulative experience as a bicycle courier, growing up in lower Manhattan, and 14+ years of insatiable obsession to know every inch of my city via two wheels. These photographs span years of intentional exploration from ‘on the ground’ research for narrow windows of access, paired with adept daily observations from thousands of hours in the street.

Just like my brakeless track bike, the camera is a pure extension of myself. My camera is always slung around my neck, ready to go, wherever I go. Taking photographs of New York helps me to unpack and digest my complex emotional response to a perpetually changing city, and oftentimes, the brutal human condition that comes along with it. Allow me to share a piece of my story, and a view into the New York that I see.”

DogecoinNorway (@dogecoinnorway)

“An Oasis of Serenity”. Hidden Pearl at the bottom of Bondhus Glacier Norway.

The Running Forest”. The running river of Djupadalen, Haugesund Norway.

Goats of Norway”. Picture of Norwegian Goats at Briksdalbreen Loen Norway.

Domenica (@webazz)

expirado is a collection of 6 unique expired film pieces taken with a camera that had the film inside for around 20 years. She just shot having no idea what they were going to look like. It comes to the world as it is.

Enefteekyle (@enefteekyle1)

“ The project is #iNCMPLT. The title of the project has multiple meanings. To start with; the “i” is lowercase because it’s never about the individual it’s about the team. iNCMPLT is an incomplete spelling of incomplete because the project is a collection of photos from different occasions. It’s a collection of incomplete photos from different shoots. It’s a reminder that things won’t be perfect. As artists, we are never satisfied with our own work. We never feel it’s good enough. It’s never “complete” in our own eyes. So this is a reminder to just put your work out there and let people enjoy it. Nothing will ever be completely perfect.”

Fernando Gallegos (@gallegosfer)

S & “a”.

A poetic narrative about the things we do and the places we go to forget ourselves. Inspired by W.H. Auden’s poem “The Question”. Photographs were made from 2015 to 2017 in Argentina and Switzerland.

Mickey Smith (@mickeysmithart)

For two decades, I have photographed books in libraries. They aren’t touched, artificially lit, or manipulated. Bound by a librarian, found in the stacks, they are documented as left by the last reader. In libraries worldwide, these volumes are being deaccessioned, making them a rarity in the physical world. Included in my NFT Genesis collection are seven iconic magazine titles of the 20th century, creating an assembly of cultural archives lost. Each NFT is part of a triptych of the same title, and collectively all three create a set that will be brought together and disbursed along the blockchain, referencing their movement in the physical world.

The Library of Obsolescence presents a shift in cultural values; the spines are mantras of particular moments in our history and take on new meaning as repositories for the future.

VOGUE #3. VOGUE magazine. Published 1892-present. Photographed at Parsons School of Design | The New School Library, New York, NY. USA 2010.

TIME #1. TIME magazine. Published 1923-present. Photographed at Time-Life Archive, New York, NY. USA, 2011.

LOOK #3. LOOK magazine. Published 1937–1971. Photographed at University of Missouri Miller Nichols Library, Kansas City, MO. USA 2008.

Mikelaxne (@Mikelaxne)

BIG BANG is a series of long exposure photos taken of fireworks on New Years' Eve 2019, signifying sudden and abrupt change for us all. Good or Bad, each moment passes.

OmarZRobles (@omarzrobles)

“NYC Photographer & Adobe Lightroom Ambassador. Street Dance Photographer… Or Dance Street Photographer. In any case, I photograph the dance of life in the streets in many forms.”

Viento y trance.

Me absorbe el viento que susurra tu nombre,

3 o 4 veces al día.

Escribe en mi brazos la melancolía

del tiempo que esconde en el vientre

conocimiento y sabiduría.

Ya no aguanto, y dejo que corras

entre mis venas como una de esas canciones.

Y al terminar tus largas oraciones

confirmo que olvido tus obras

como olvidé todas mis ilusiones.

Y dejo de ser, como en un trance.

Suspendido de mi esencia,

hoy mi existencia se debate

entre un futuro y este estúpido

e insípido instante.

“I am absorbed by the wind that whispers your name,

3 or 4 times a day.

Write in my arms the melancholy of the time

of the time that hides in the womb

knowledge and wisdom.

I can’t stand it anymore, and I let you run

through my veins like one of those songs.

And at the end of your long prayers

I confirm that I forget your works

as I forgot all my illusions.

And I cease to be, as in a trance.

Suspended from my essence,

today my existence is debated

between a future and this stupid

and insipid instant.”

Above. When the noise is too much… I rise above.

Vida. “Vida is the first piece of my NFT collection “…del Agua.” The collection was created during my recent trip back to Puerto Rico, my home country, after almost two years of not being able to visit family and friends due to the COVID-19 crisis. It took a lot out of me to be able to make this trip happen. The pandemic left in me a crippling fear of crowds. I had to prepare mentally and emotionally for months in order to be able to even consider boarding a plane again. Returning home to see my nieces and nephew again became my new north and focus to overcome that fear.

While I normally photograph dancers in urban settings, for this series I decided to go to the place where I truly find myself, the water. Feeling the ocean once again, listening to the waves crash, and smelling the saltwater gave me life. It infused me with renewed energy. In spite of everything, in spite of anything. I’m back home and that’s what matters. I am back, in the ocean, where I came from. Where one day, I will end.”

Rubén Álvarez (@artofruben)

Haematopoiesis #150; Haematopoiesis #133; Haematopoiesis #130 & Haematopoiesis #136

Rubén is an Artist and photographer from Spain. The unsparing search of making the difference inspires him to create totally out of the ordinary images. Focused on his project called UViolet™ uses his technique to create beautiful images for some of the best brands around the world.

Haematopoiesis is the first release of this overarching fine art collection, where each cell was handcrafted one by one with paint, liquid thickener, ferrofluid, and magnets, then photographed to create this extraordinary collection. Every cell is unique and will be a key to Rubén’s artistic journey.

This collection was inspired by Rubén’s personal experiences. He discovered Haematopoiesis while he was looking for treatments for his numerous Salivary Gland Tumors. He went through several surgeries in the past years and continues to fight.

‘’My hope is that you can feel the same inspiration that I felt when you look at these images. Even when things are complicated, stay positive and don’t give up“.

The images are royalty-free for editorial and non-commercial use in magazines, medical journals, books, university projects, etc. related to the research and treatment of cancer and rare diseases.

10% of primary sales will be donated to https://criscancer.org/

Tracy Lee (@tracyleephotos)

Astrophotographer, former MMA Photographer, collector, passionate creative, Icanologist (I CAN do anything!) Living la Vida Loca in Las Vegas or out of a suitcase on the road!

Spontaneous Refraction. “Spontaneous trips are my wheelhouse and taking off to Los Angeles on a whim the day after the Fourth of July to shoot photos with friends is not surprising to anyone who knows me. I had seen many breathtaking images come out of this curvy, mountainous road, as it’s a popular Southern California location for photographers. I have always wanted to throw my own twist onto it, so a short 4 hours to LA and it was soon my turn. I began capturing this soon after sunset, so the horizon still showed the colors as the sun blew her kisses and said goodbye. It wasn’t long until the stars were twinkling hello, as they woke from their slumber to light up the night sky. The curves here are so pleasing to the eye and to include both the trails from the cars as well as the stars to create this Spontaneous Refraction of light, has been an exciting journey for me after all of these years.”

Spilt Milk (parallax). “A night under the stars with friends, strangers & infinite possibilities. I associate the images I create w/the great conversations & laughter had. I’m pretty new to parallax & have equipment limitations so I spent 4 days on making this work! I am embracing this technique in my art going forward; I feel that it takes a beautiful image & makes it come to life!

This is a Parallax in a series w/ a Photo: https://foundation.app/tracylee/spilt-milk-photo-38007. Music: https://opensea.io/assets/12nft

Sea of Stars. “There’s a short time, twice each night, when the light of day turns a bluish hue and spreads an even light across the landscape. The Milky Way is waking up, or in this case, heading to bed and she is tickled pink by the sun below the horizon. You have mere minutes to catch this phenomena, & truth be told, I almost missed it. Reflections in the lake made this into a Sea of Stars that soon dwindled into the twilight.

This is a 1/1 photo in a collection w/a parallax coming soon.”

Zach Doehler (@calibreus_)

Arrival. “A place where the sea meets the stars. Two powerful forces of the Universe separated by countless miles of distance. A representation of my imagination mixed with the formations of reality.”

Fog & Fire. “The second installment of my “Elemental” series. A blend of two photos to create one intense fiery image. The base of this photo was captured high up in the mountains of British Columbia, Canada. After camping in the valley below, I hopped on my motorcycle and rode up to the top of the mountain to catch the sunrise. It was unbelievably cold. But once the sun popped above the horizon, it created some of the most beautiful golden rays I have ever seen in my life. It was well worth the cold, dark ride.”

The Alpine Atmosphere. “The third and final installment of my “Elemental” series. This is a dreamy hybrid landscape consisting of a foggy alpine pathway captured in the alpine of Vancouver Island and a moody cloudy shot photographed by the sea. I wanted to create a simple yet atmospheric dreamscape with this piece. The way the clouds blended in with the fog really created something so serene and very unique to my usual style of work. This is by far one of my favorite midday scenes I’ve captured and transformed.”

Well, that’s all for now, Thanks to each and every one of the artists who contacted us to exhibit, to the people who supported our idea, and to the future visitors who stop by the gallery to take a look at the artists’ work.

We look forward to seeing you at our land: https://www.cryptovoxels.com/play?coords=S@435E,112S

Follow us on Twitter: @TheEthereans

Buy some Ethereans!: https://opensea.io/collection/ethereans-official

Join our Discord!: https://discord.gg/ethereans

Check our website!: https://ethereans.mx/

--

--