EthicalGifters

Giulio Gabrieli
The Ethical Gifters
2 min readNov 15, 2020

Make the world a better place one (ethical) gift at time

In January I have decided to improve my coding skills. I do code mostly for data analysis, but I do enjoy coding websites once in a while. While I do have some basic skills when it comes to the different web technologies, I did nothing about the most recent platforms that support developers in the design and deployment of web and mobile apps.

Is it Christmas yet? Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

During a talk at Google Singapore, I’ve been introduced to Firebase, a promising tool that have been acquired by Google that aims at helping developers at different stages of services development. So I am there, in my cold office in a hot wet Singaporean night, deciding what my first “Hello World” in Firebase should look like.

After a little bit of single-handed brainstorming, I decide to go for a product listing page. But that’s not enough. I wanna make something useful. It has to be something useful for me and useful for others as well.

And that’s where the idea for EthicalGifters: being someone who sucks at buying presents, I usually rely on website that suggests you cool products, and I do keep an list of nice stuff I see around that would make great presents. So, what about a public gift idea platform? And to make it even better, why not put the focus on sustainable, green, or ecofriendly products?

With that in mind, I started to draft the skeleton of the projetct. Login, listing, creation of new products, mailing list, a developer blog. After a few weeks the platform is up and running. And suggestions started to come in from other users as well. Cool!

Code for the List page of EthicalGifters being edited in Brackets.
Some badly written code with no comments at all. A reminder to myself that I need to improve the readability and simplicity of my code.

Then the pandemic hit us all, and as many of the people in the world I had to take a break from everything to focus on myself and my mental health. Then, after almost 10 months, I finally found the will to re-open my editor, fix some bugs, and give the project a couple enhancements.

While far from being complete, I am proud to say I finally pushed version 0.2.0 online earlier today! And I have also decided to start a small space where I discuss cool new ecofriendly products, and since Christmas is getting closer, also possible wintertime gift ideas.

Visit the revamped service on ethicalgifters.web.app, follow the project on Twitter and Instagram, and don’t forget to sign up for the newsletter!

Make the world a better place, one gift at the time.

--

--