Communication: The Outside

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
2 min readApr 12, 2020

--

Honestly I have have been asked this one stupid question pretty much every single time: “where are you located?” Like I know the saying “there is no stupid question except for the one that isn’t asked” but honestly if the answer to any question you have in your mind is right there in front of you… aka the details in the listing you are viewing; then clearly that’s a stupid question to ask when the answer was included in the listing’s details.

How is it that people can read the details in listings on eBay with no problems but when it comes to listings on Facebook Marketplace, Letgo, Carousel and many other “Buy & Sell” platforms, seem to act so stupid for one thing?

It just doesn’t make sense to me. Oh and also whenever I do get messages from customers through any of these platforms, I urge or encourage them to look at all their possible options (once they know the item is what they are looking for, the price, size, condition, etc) to purchase: as shown below:

I always bring all these options to my customers:

1) pickup in my area at one of these locations:

Georgetown mall, downtown Georgetown, neighbourhood, porch pickup

2) meet halfway in between my town and theirs.

3) meet in their area when I’m there for another purpose or reason: shopping with friends in Mississauga (example)

4) have a friend or family member pickup or carpool with them to pickup the item(S)

5) shipping

6) deliver for an extra charge of $0 – 20

Your thoughts on these options?

Anyway, it also frustrates me when customers makes false yet harsh assumptions and accusations of me based off of what I say via messages.

If you believe that messages, emails etc can be interpreted/understood incorrectly easily, well I agree and I have more than plenty of experience of how my messages that I’ve sent customers in the past have been misinterpreted, misunderstood for the wrong intentions and block me and some even give me bad reviews because of what they assumed from how they read and understood my messages.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.