eBay Life Lesson: Common Sense

Assumptions made on selling platform

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2018

--

Someone purchased something I posted on eBay and they got mad when it didn’t arrive soon enough. eBay ads show expected arrival dates but no one should assume they would arrive. It all depends on when someone purchases an item.

If someone wants an item shipped and to arrive by a certain date, they should notify the seller before purchasing the item; so that they (seller) can arrange to be able to meet the expectations/standards from the buyer and make an agreement that they will need to wait until they (seller) gets a quote on the price to have it shipped and arrive by the date or earlier; before purchasing and if they don’t want to pay that amount, have them arrange to meet up: either they pay money for shipping that in which Canada Post charges or pay gas to meet up in person for the item.

Yes well this one scenario was way back in April or May this year; before the strike. And also to keep in mind, the weather will impact the arrival of the items.

The person got mad and was unsatisfied with the expected arrival that she told me said it would arrive by April/May 18 and I kept telling her that she shouldn’t “assume” that the textbook will arrive by that date as there are things that can impact/affect the time the textbook arrives: weather, strike, item being lost, etc.

She even left a bad review: “item as described. However shipping was slow, took a week before it was mailed :(“

I had told her to not assume and to understand that I have my own busy life and to be understanding, respectful of my busy schedule and even considerate.

I took time out of one of my days off (which I normally ship items during my breaks of my shifts at Walmart as the post office is located at the mall near where I work) to ship it for her and she was unappreciative of the time I spent doing that for her and she responded with ungrateful ness of what I did for her: taking the time out of the day I had off work; to ship it for her sooner than I was planning to (as I had a few days off and preferred to ship during my shifts) as she was on my back about shipping it as soon as possible.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.