Force Vs Nature: Which Seems To Be A Better Way To Achieve Change?

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
Published in
4 min readDec 14, 2021

This topic has been on my mind more than not. It’s something that’s been a topic that’s connected to a deeper wound close to home… domestic abuse.

For me, it’s anything that involves someone telling me to do something. Especially if I’m able to make the judgment that it’s not the kind of things that I wanna do with my life. They say dress a proper way, and not like a kid wearing many different colours. But though also say to act a certain way do things in a limited way.

I know what my body needs, my brain needs and I know that I am a great judgment when it comes to myself and the life I wanna create for myself.

The huge and yet biggest challenge/struggle yet here is getting out of this. I’m stuck living in the same place and I can’t seem to find a job that makes me happy (mental health but also gives back in a way if changing the world in a big way: a visionary). Try searching “visionary” on Indeed or Monster or Job Bank. Any luck? Probably not.

For example, in this storyline, a mother is trying to set an arranged marriage for her daughter, yet her daughter has her vision and focus on her app and being successful there with that, and not having to rely on a man to be supported. We woman can and are powerful enough to take care of ourselves financially. It just won’t be easy, but never impossible yet challenging but worth it!

And honestly like I said about my huge struggle with moving out and finally making a life for myself. For me lately for the past many months or more, I’ve been feeling this quite:

I’m like a shark in a tank and I’m swimming around in circles and I’m moving. But I’m not getting anywhere! ~ Cat Grant, SuperGirl

And I gotta say, I need to get out of this shark tank. And I’m stuck, stumped on how to make my first move so I thought why not write a couple posts on my blog. Hope something comes from this. Because I really hope it does. My life depends on it, along with my health, my mental health. Like two people once said:

If you’re not happy, make a change. ~ Jane The Virgin

It’s not okay to be unhappy. ~ The Fosters

And a few others about if I’m not happy with the way my life is, I need to change it. If it were only that simple. As the past months, I’ve found it harder than I’d like it to be to find a way out of all this and into a new chapter of my life where I can finally say for one: “I’m finally out of the woods”. Another quote comes up and yeah I really hope 3, 5, 8 10 years from now I’m happier and having accomplished more than what I’ve accomplished till today.

What if I told you 10 years from now your life would be exactly the same. Doubt you’d be happy. So why are you afraid of change? ~ Karen Salmansohn

This life that I’m currently living is not what I wanna be living at all. Not even close. And I’m so unhappy with how limitations are work have “negatively” impacted my mental health. All other workplaces I’ve worked at never put this limitation on me like this, and I never suffered from muscle spasms until this year. There has always been a way to prevent muscle spasms in workplaces. Sports is another scenario where muscle spasms can occur, that makes sense. But muscle spasms from not exercising my legs due to limitations brought on from management at any workplace? This does not make sense. It’s simple: encourage people who you hire to always be doing something with “no limitations” and by not putting them in a box (not literate) or on a lease.

Always encouraging employees to always doing something, if they have to stop doing a specific task or project, they can organize or clean up or break down boxes, clean the area, etc and the list goes on. There’s no limitations except for when limitation is brought into the scenario and people suffer.

But muscle spasms because of the limitations management puts on their employees is not good. It’s affected me highly and it’s gotta change. It’s not acceptable for me to live in this environment for the times I’m there.

The real world is not about happy endings. It’s about taking the life you have and fighting like hell to keep it. ~ Jessica Jones

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.