My Selling Policy:

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
2 min readMay 13, 2020

--

When it comes to selling online through eBay, Letgo, Facebook Marketplace, Carousel, Depop and other selling platforms; I’ve had many experiences with most of these platforms and here’s some tips and my logic on my reasons for my selling policies:

Patience & understanding

If any customer isn’t patient and understanding of my way or selling and my busy schedule (work, family, friends, selling, etc) then I’m gonna automatically decline your offer, leave the chat conversation (used in Facebook Marketplace).

Respect and Consideration

If you aren’t respectful of how I complete and make sales online, I will also decline your offer and leave the chat (used in Facebook Marketplace).

It makes sense to give everyone that has shown interest in any one item I’m selling. Even if one person is ready to purchase or send payment; doesn’t mean I’m gonna sell to that person.

Especially if someone else is more considerate, respectful, kind, understanding, and patient about the way I sell online; I’m gonna sell to any of those people. Anyone who doesn’t show any of these characteristics in the conversation with them, automatic decline.

I’m not gonna sell to wherever even if they decide they have every right to be mean or act all “entitled” to me to get what they want me to do for them. You want soemthing I’m selling; those characteristics are important to have during communication with me. If you don’t show any of these, why should I sell? If I do, that’s showing and telling them that I allow anyone to treat me like sh*** to get what they want.

If you have the time and energy to act, treat me like that, you aren’t gonna get anything from me at all. You want something, show these characteristics and then maybe we’ll see how I feel as you change your attitude, communication skills and professionalism with me.

  • Patience
  • Understanding
  • Respect
  • Consideration
  • Kindness
  • Empathy

Oh and even empathy is a great and yet crucially important one as one should be kind and selfless enough to empathetic what a sellers busy schedule is like and how they may not be as responsive as they may have expected you to be.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.