Selling Stuff & The Health Effects

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2018

--

Selling things online and buying through selling platforms like Letgo, Facebook, eBay and others, can be great places when you are able to communicate with sellers and buyers with good intentions and words; though keeping in mind that we can’t make people act or be a certain way.

But I we can be good with encouraging or inspiring healthier communication from them. Though don’t expect them to take it the right way. Some will view it as some bad offence and make easy assumptions and instantly without thinking to ask the buyer or seller what they meant to say or what objective or propose of their words.

Anyway, when you get into a long episode of selling/buying things, it can easily enough get into unhealthy habits and actions. For me particularly, since my 3rd depressive episode began in February this year (2018), I found myself getting into bad thinking habits and making mistakes way too easily in communications with customers/interested buyers. And I lost out on some opportunities to sell some of the items I had posted on selling platforms due to my health condition and circumstances; and other moments where I lost out on more opportunities completely out of my control and more so from the other side.

I can’t say how many times where I’ve had people instantly so easily block me by an easy assumption of one simple fact I stated in conversation with them. They message me for something I was giving away for free and they say they can’t meet up due to the distance between them and me; but would like it shipped; assuming I’d ship it to them for free.

I’d tell them it would cost myself money therefore I cannot offer free shipping and they’d just go block me just like that. Without asking for an explanation or clarification of what I was stating. Absolutely nothing. Though there have been at least 2–4 people who paid me for the shipping cost after I had dropped the items off at Canada Post (via e-transfer) no problem or assumptions or blocking.

Beyond this particular topic, I’d like to focus more of the attention on something more deeper and important than anything like education that society has always believed to be…

Mental health… mental health, what? Your selfish for being so involved in yourself more than in other people.

That’s the kind of thoughts other people; especially my parents put into my head. But since July or earlier this year, I lost my train of thought and all ability to experience:

  • Stress
  • Anxiety
  • Panic
  • Worry
  • Overthinking
  • Anger
  • Fear
  • Danger
  • Joy
  • Happiness
  • Humour/funny
  • Feel like myself
  • And more

And nobody knows except my doctor and my therapist/counsellor about all this.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.