Silent Majority

How could this affect my life? How could I affect the outcome?

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
3 min readSep 15, 2017

--

Hello everyone. I’m here to talk about this song by Nickelback’s most recent album (Feed The Machine) which this song that in which I am talking about is called: Silent Majority.

To start talking about this song, I wanna cover some facts and beliefs of mine that have come to me that I really relate to and connect with. The first lyric is the one above: “how could this affect my life? How could I affect the outcome?”

For me, even now some moments, make me come to this lyric and really think about how my reactions, choices, and decisions affect the outcome and whether my responses are logical, wise or emotionally intelligent. I know and believe that it will take time to get into the habit and practice of not going into something that isn’t my own business. But I do know and believe that I have to try and do my best in each moment and reference the previous moments to do better next time.

I know I struggle with these kinds of situations but I’m working hard still with my mental health recovery to continue progressing and achieving more victories, accomplishments and overcoming new things that I haven’t yet overcome. I will respect that these kinds of things takes time, patience, commitment, inner strength, emotional intelligence, mindfulness, gratitude and others. And I’m way more than willing enough to things that I don’t always make the right or best choices in the end.

So what if we all stand up? What if we don’t give in? What if we trade it all? Complacency for a voice that won’t be ignored. How can we just give up? How can we just give in? What if the silent majority wasn’t silent anymore?

To start talking about this next quote, I wanna talk about standing up for what you believe in. Now I’m gonna talk about the things that I believe in and how I can turn my experiences into pulling out the things any one person can identify if you keep your mind wide open.

One thing that I believe in is being who I am and not being ashamed for anything and all that I am flaws and all. Just simply accepting and embracing all that I am with beauty and confidence!

The one with the loudest voice is really the one to follow. Silence the noise.

For as long as I can remember, I have always wanted to be heard in a way that I’m the reason why people don’t give up and work hard and hold onto whatever ounce of hope they still have to achieving the things they want in their life. This idea/thought/dream of mine became part of my purpose and it’s still an important part of my purpose, which I won’t take for granted nor leave out because I know that I’m a better person for all the kinds of things that I intend on giving to others and with pursing a second career in mental health.

I was told that I’d be more open to applying to many different kinds of jobs that are related to psychology: helping others through therapy and such. Which was what I was told: child support/youth worker. Something like that, which my best friend, Courtney studied for 3 years at Sheridan in Oakville and is now working full time in Georgetown at the Community Living North company.

Hurry up, the world needs this. Speak up now or we can pick up the pieces.

We all want to be heard and to be treated with respect, care, kindness and compassionate like we would give others and ourselves. Though most of us or all of us seem to struggle with that and get the wrong understanding and idea of what we are expected versus what we actually put into action of this practice.

But for me, I’m still working on the fact standing that I can only control and be responsible for how I respond to others, moments and how I live my life. Taking responsibly for my own actions, owning up to my mistakes, learning from them, letting them go, moving on, referring to past moments to do better next time and other practices to live a healthier lifestyle!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.