Think Before You React

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
Published in
4 min readApr 11, 2020

--

Assumptions is just one thing I can think of on the spot. Think, before you walk away with your assumptions, read these two articles to learn:

After reading both articles, what have you learned? What past experiences or moments came to your mind that related to making assumptions? What do you think you can do differently next time assumptions enter your mind?

What do you think you can do to help give the right info so others don’t assume? What do you think you can work on to help control your controlling habits or urges?

I’d like to quote a quote from the first article:

Assuming we know the answers because we choose to be too busy to communicate what we are wondering, thinking and believing as true.

The three questions that are included also in the first article are very helpful. In fact, if the customers who I’ve communicated with in the past were more aware about the consequences and outcomes of making assumptions without asking yourself the three questions, they would have got what they had messaged me for…

But by what percentage? Hmm, 95–98%! Yes that high! How that high? Well here’s some of my previous articles/posts I’ve posted from my Medium account showing some real experiences:

Especially the last one. All of them that I’ve shared stories that I’ve experienced with customers have been more than just shocking and … but also painful and hurtful. Words hurt, and once you say them, you can’t take them back.

The things people said to me that were front heir assumptions and their reactions and responses to what they made (assumptions) hurt me so much that if they hadn’t said those things and had asked for clarification to understand what I actually meant, I would’ve sold them what they wanted.

I don’t do business with anyone who’s gonna treat me like any of these people did. You are what you allow and I’m not gonna earn or make some money from someone who treats me like ***. I’ll sell to those who are kind, considerate, patient, understanding, respectful, compassionate, and any other characteristic quality that are important in these moments.

Now let’s focus a bit on what I’m gonna talk about next: let’s watch this video and I’ll go from there.

Which means now we’re surrounded by a complaining culture. And we all know this: spending today complaining about yesterday won’t make tomorrow any better. When we complain about our family, it’s so important to remember that there’s someone out there who’s lost their parents. When we complain about our jobs, it’s important to recognize that someone out there has lost theirs. When we complain about college, or university or school it’s important to remember, there are millions of children without access to education.

If today was the last day of your life, how would you change the way you speak? If today was the last day of your life, how would you change the way you think? If today was the last day of your life, how would you change the way you behave? How would you change the way you connect with the people closest to you? How would you change the way you interact with anyone that you meet or see?

You never know when the last thing you said is going to be the last time that that person hears your voice. Are you happy with the last thing you said to a loved one? Are you happy with the last thing you thought about them? Are you happy with the last way you behaved with someone in your life.

Go 24 hours without complaining and see how your life changes. The secret to having it all is knowing you already do.

And remember: be careful what you say to someone today, because you may not have tomorrow to take it back.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.