Would You Live Each Moment Like Your Last?

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World
4 min readFeb 8, 2018

--

Hello again! I’d like to talk about what holds us back from doing what we want regardless of anything such as what others will think, what our friends, parents and colleagues will think, messing up and making a fool out of ourselves, etc.

Well I’ve had just as many experiences with trying to seize the moment when an opportunity presented itself even those moments where you are waiting for the perfect or right moment to do something, well “What Are You Waiting For?” a book I wrote myself on WattPad is perfect along with this one.

Screw waiting for the perfect, right moment, push yourself and even have your loyal friends help push you to seize the moment regardless of anything at all. Because waiting doesn’t make your dreams or anything happen. Dreams don’t work unless you do. You gotta Lilly our end and life and nature will do it’s part. You gotta help yourself first to make what you want a reality, your reality! And so here’s my final thoughts:

Well I’ve been thinking and thought: “to start living each day like it’s my last. Never take anything for granted (which I’ve been doing great with), appreciate everything, be kind each day and to everyone. Regardless of what I may be feeling emotionally unless in moments or opportunities to express myself to inspire others, encourage better, healthier change.

Aspire to the greater things and all things that I can share and speak about because I’ve been there, I’ve done it and I’m better and happier because I did! And yet not waiting for the perfect or right moment to do something, to just push myself enough to seize the moment! I believe we all need this as a reminder each and every day!

I know something that can really prove that taking risks that are attached or rather to say linked to doing certain things. And that is by living each day like it’s our last. For me I wouldn’t wanna spend my last day knowing I was the only limit that’s holding myself back from complete freedom and self expression without any further thoughts convincing my otherwise.

Listen, I wore a green shirt to my shift at Walmart on Bell Let’s Talk Day and since January 12, the management team has made it clear will be strict about dress code. Only wear black and white! But why did I make the choice to wear green on Bell Let’s Talk Day even though it had been past the date where the management team would be strict about wearing only black and white?

Well my answer is simple: it’s my belief of making every day count and living everyday like it’s my last. I know I’d be more satisfied than ever knowing I spent my last day not being held back or limited by myself or anyone or anything else from anything that I wanna do. I’m not gonna let any rules that go against my own beliefs hold me back. Because lately I’ve been sticking to my statement which is:

“I’m gonna do what makes me happy and what my heart desires rather than wasting my life being the average human being. I wanna be bold. I wanna be my own person (which I have been my own person for in the still-working process 2.5 years). I don’t want others to hold me back just because I’m expected to follow by the rules and those in which keep us civilized citizens of our society. I wanna be heard of what my intentions and main message of what I’m doing here.

The risks that com with what I’m doing I believe in which are worth the risks and what I intend and hope to get as a result. So what if those days I choose to wear colours that aren’t black and white to my part time job at Walmart? Are any managers or staff gonna get at me for not following by their strict dress code? Yes but that’s not gonna follow them no matter how much they try to convince me otherwise.

I am who I am and I don’t intend to change my appearance, clothes, personality or anything about who I am or anything about my life just to please or gain anyone’s validation. I’ve been seeking validation from the wrong people. The only acceptance that really matters is my own and I’m not gonna let anyone’s fancy persuasion change my mind anytime throughout the rest of my life. People can think, say and act however they want but I’m gonna always choose to be: authentic, true, honest, loyal and confident me.”

So yeah that’s part of my speech of my beliefs and statements on “living everyday like it’s your last!”

--

--

Laura Annabelle
The Ethical World

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.