Advice to undocumented Filipinos

News from Balitang Amerika

Kristine Dizon
The Ethnic Voice
1 min readMar 13, 2017

--

In the story of Balitang Amerika article, it shed a light on undocumented Filipinos in this country of how to deal if questioned on their status in this country.

The Pilipino Workers Center in Los Angeles advices undocumented Filipinos, “‘Don’t resist physically. Resist verbally, you can say, ‘I don’t consent to this search.’

It is knowing their rights. It is knowing what to do. It is knowing what to say.

Youtube clip from Balitang Amerika

Steve Angeles’s article is interesting to use “Teresa” as an example which gave it a personal story for readers to relate. It is a relatable piece of the uncertainty of undocumented Filipinos because of not knowing what is next if an ICE officer approaches him or her.

I like a personal quote from Teresa. She said, “I’m worried about life, if I’m going to lose my life in America.”

This quote resonated to me because she calls her life in America. She is not a criminal. She is simply living her life in America without proper documents.

This article connects to you as a reader to feel sympathetic about the situation. It is feeling robbed the life of a person has built, unfortunately under the Trump admninstration there is that uncertainty.

--

--

Kristine Dizon
The Ethnic Voice

Currently a senior at Calif. State University, Northridge. I have a voracious appetite and I am looking forward to a new food trip.