My continuous education through cultural and ethnic media

Santiago Svidler
The Ethnic Voice
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

La Nacion is an Argentinian daily newspaper and it is also the country’s leading newspaper. Growing up in Argentina my parents would always receive a copy of La Nación and I particularly remember my dad reading the newspaper to me almost every morning at breakfast. Once my family and I moved to Los Angeles, my dad continued his subscription to La Nación except now he reads it online. Though my dad enjoys reading the news in Spanish and seeing how the current events in the U.S. are being covered by Argentinian publications, we also have a subscription to the Los Angeles Times. My mother on the other hand, likes to read different magazines and news outlets mostly in English but she occasionally enjoys Spanish magazines like ¡Hola! magazine.

Once I moved to Los Angeles with my family, I only read American newspapers because I wanted to practice my English while keeping up with the current events that were happening in my new community and country. Now that I’m older I actually enjoy reading La Nación and other Argentinian publications because I like to stay updated with current events in Argentina.

The Jewish Journal just like many other ethnic outlets has been covering Trump’s immigration ban in detail. On Feb. 2, the Jewish Journal published an opinion story told by Rabbi Shmuel Herzfeld about the importance of acceptances and inclusion. This opinion story is different from others because instead of attacking Trump and his immigration ban, Rabbi Shmuel writes about what us as Jews can do to make Muslims families feel accepted. Shmuel and his wife decided to invite a family of Muslims to enjoy Shabbat dinner at their home with the hopes of “embracing and giving respect to our Muslim neighbors.” According to Shmuel his main goal for the dinner was to show the son of the Muslim family who was saddened by the news of the ban, that people all around the country are supporting him and his family. The Rabbi ends his story by asking his fellow Jews to reach out to a Muslim family and invite them to their own Shabbat dinner.

http://jewishjournal.com/opinion/214260/invite-muslim-shabbat/

--

--

Santiago Svidler
The Ethnic Voice

Hi, I’m Santi and I like warm hugs. Aspiring Publicist in the world of LA entertainment. Student @csunorthridge. Hobbies include: Netflix n chilling by myself