Primer Impacto and Novelas Were My Life

Arevalo Stacey
The Ethnic Voice
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2017

I was born and raised in Los Angeles and both of my parents emigrated from Guatemala. I grew up in the Pico-Union neighborhood, a densely immigrant and Latino community and was consequently exposed to the Spanish-language media in the U.S.

Throughout my childhood, my mother and I would tune in to Univision every single night and turned to Telemundo once in a while. We religiously watched “Primer Impacto,” a television news program which started around 5 or 6p.m., and would stay tuned for the network’s entire primetime lineup.

Credit: Screenshot of article from Univision.com

Thinking back, however, I realized that all of our information came from that news program or the station’s 11 o’clock news. We rarely listened to the radio and did not read the newspaper. Ironically, it wasn’t until I began college that I started to read La Opinión and other print media.

One of the ethnic outlets that I am following is called We are MiTú. They are a young digitally first media company that provides content for Latino millennials from a Latino point of view.

When it comes to President Donald Trump’s actions, Mitú has published articles about the anti-Trump protests all throughout the U.S. and presented Latino celebrities’ reactions to his agenda.

Mitú has also featured stories about how Trump’s policies have affected Cuban-Americans, Central Americans, Mexican-Americans Afro-Latinos and other Latino groups. They’ve also addressed the lack of Latino representation in Trump’s cabinet and the responses of Latino legislators to his immigration policies.

--

--