Wanting more exposure to ethnic media

Arianna Takis
The Ethnic Voice
Published in
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

Jerusalem Post:

I would define ethnic press as a media outlet that represents alternative perspectives for a particular audience targeting a certain ethnic group. It can also be looked at as a way to not only connect to one’s culture or home country, but also a way to connect with the community you currently live in through the help of others belonging to that same culture.

I come from a Greek and Polish background with Jewish roots on my mother’s side of the family. I never really had a connection with my Polish side whatsoever and I identify more with my Greek and Jewish identities. This being said — I never really was surrounded by ethnic media growing up. My mother is from Israel but she is very Americanized and does not stay in touch with any Israeli media, but she introduced some Jewish media to me throughout my life. She reads the Jewish Journal here and there and although I do not know much about it, I am still somewhat interested in that type of media outlet. My lack of exposure to ethnic press makes me interested in seeing how this type of media works, as opposed to the mainstream media that I am so used to.

Where my mother was born and raised until she moved to the US at age 13.

What I have noticed about ethnic press coverage about the Trump administration in the past couple of weeks is that fear is being insinuated into the coverage. Many immigrant communities are fearful of what will happen to them. I have also noticed the support that the ethnic media outlets have been putting out for members of the community to reach out and connect with as well.

Are Things Looking Better?

As the days have gone by since the travel ban was implemented and the circuit court ruling to stop the ban from continuing, I have noticed stronger support shown in the ethnic media I’ve followed. The Jewish media that I have looked at has shown solidarity with the communities being targeted in the ban. It is interesting to see a community that is not directly effected, stand by with another community that is.

HIAS, a global Jewish nonprofit that protects refugees has held rallies in several states to support refugees. This is something that the mainstream media probably has not shown, but can be found in ethnic media outlets.

--

--