What is Balitang America?

Kristine Dizon
The Ethnic Voice
Published in
2 min readFeb 5, 2017

My family moved to United States when I was 10 years old, so all of us spoke in Kapangpangan which is a different dialect in the Philippines. Since my father has been living here for seven years before my mom, me, and my siblings, he would watch the local news before he goes to work and after work. He would also read articles on Yahoo! or CNN. As for my mother, growing up we have The Filipino Channel, she would watch majority of the news on there. Whenever we would go to Seafood City Supermaket which is a Filipino grocery store, they would pick up the Asian Journal or Philippine Journal on our way out.

Phillipines Taken from Google Maps

Since technology is way more advanced now, my parents would be on their iPads and read news articles from various news outlets. My mother would search current news videos on Youtube and still be connected to Philippine news, so she would share it to my father. When Duterte became the president of the Philippines, they were very much in tuned to Balitang America which is an online publication. Moreover, it has their own channel on Youtube and a segment on TFC (The Filipino Channel).

President of the Phillipines Rodgrigo Duterte Taken from Google Images

As for me, I would watch or read what my mother shares with me to be in touch with current Filipino news. When she does not share Filipino news with me, unfortunately I do not get to read or watch any Filipino content.

--

--

Kristine Dizon
The Ethnic Voice

Currently a senior at Calif. State University, Northridge. I have a voracious appetite and I am looking forward to a new food trip.