What is ethnic media growing up as a Pinay

Kristine Dizon
5 min readMay 8, 2017

--

Google Map of the Philippines

The definition of ethnic media is best described is stated in “‘One Nation with News for All’, Newseum looks at Ethnic media in America, “The job of the ethnic media has been to decode a new world, encourage new arrivals, and represent a new shade on the American palette.’ To represent their communities and provide a link between the old country and the new, and really to help them become American — that was very important,’ says Sharon Shahid, online managing editor at the Newseum and lead writer for the exhibit.”

When we moved here in United States, I felt like my parents still want to be connected to our roots in the Philippines. My parents put The Filipino Channel (TFC) in our cable plan to feel linked in the Filipino community. But as for their children go through high school, my parents decided to remove it. This is due to rise of social media. My mother discovered Youtube and this is how she will get her news through the Filipino community. The particular Youtube channel she visited was Balitang America. This is affiliated with TFC. My father on the other unless Filipinos show up on the mainstream news or new election, that is when he will look for the Filipino news outlet online. My mom said, “I still look for the Filipino news so I feel knowledgeable of what is going on in the Philippines.” Both of my parents felt they are not represented enough on the mainstream news. Although they are not always on the website of Balitang America, they felt like they can turn to them to see what is still going on in the Philippines. When the last election occurred and Pres. Duterte won, they were so attuned to Youtube and Balitang America. Ethnic media for my parents helped them be part of the Filipino community still. They are not isolated from the Phillipines. My parents still want the knowledge instilled in their children so we would not forget where we came from. I personally did not get in touch with Filipino news until recently. My mother would tell me “look at this anak,” on the Filipino news outlet. (anak means child).

Under the Trump administration, it has been aggressive movement towards undocumented immigrants. In the mainstream news the Hispanics are the ones who are the main coverage of undocumented immigrants. But Filipinos too have undocumented immigrants. For ethnic media in the Filipino community, immigration is a hot topic. Balitang America would cover the issue and advice for the undocumented Filipinos living in United State.

Main headquarters of Balitang America from Google Maps

Steve Angeles, reporter for Balitang America, covered majority of immigration issues in Balitang America. “The purpose of ethnic media is to connect them to the Filipino community,” said Angeles. He added, “It is to advice them what to do if ICE approached them.”

Screenshot from Balitang America

Steve Angeles used personal stories about his history about his time coming to america, he too was an undocumented immigrant. He gained amnesty through Regan era. I felt connected to the issue how we came to this country hoping for the American dream. Gaining that connection, it helped me understand that the immigration issue connects me to the Filipino community.

It helped me further comprehend the issue that I am lucky enough to have gone through the process of having the proper documents. It is tough for the undocument Filipinos since they constantly have to be aware of their surrounding, While Teresa worries about her daughter and granddaughter who live in another state, she also wonders about her belongings here.“I’m going to do with my Converse shoes. I got a lot of pairs. I got a lot of hats. I’m worried about my artwork paint, I’m worried about life, if I’m going to lose my life in America but still I won’t be deported. I won’t allow people like ICE or federal officers… I’m not going to allow them to get me deported,” said Teresa.

An example of this was unfortunate, since they are living their lives. What differs her from the rest was that she does not have the right documentation to live in the United States. Ethnic media eases them to be aware of their rights. Steve Angeles reports, “The Archdiocese came out. It’s a very big document one side is English; the other side is Spanish. It’s actually 50 pages divided into 5 sections, that you need to fill in to protect yourself against immigration authorities,” said Brannigan. “You should carry with you a little ID, so if anyone is arrested you can produce this, and say I’m not going to speak unless I’m in the presence of a lawyer.”

Another example Angeles reports from Balitang America when approached by ICE, “Don’t open the door don’t sign anything and don’t answer any questions. Especially if they’re questions on where you’re from, your immigration status,” said David Abud of the National Day Labor Organizing Network.”

My cousin, Justin Dizon, is not fully in touch with Filipino news outlet unless Filipinos are mentioned on mainstream news. Like it was mentioned earlier, we are not represented properly. As for someone who is not in touch with Filipino news outlet, I asked him to visit the website Balitang America. He said, “I read that there is advice about immigration under the Trump administration.” He added, “I don’t see that on mainstream news.” Dizon explained the article he read has Tagalog as their quote, as for someone who cannot understand it, it does not help him unless he has to go on Google Translation. He added, “If I can’t understand then I will skip it.”

It is understood that Balitang America does not attract young Filipino demographics or those who are born in the United States. They are not as attuned as to those who are first generation immigration. It is important to have a news outlet like Balitang America to still give advice and fully connect in the Filipino community. It makes them feel home and that they are still in touch with their roots.

Tweet from Balitang America

--

--

Kristine Dizon

Currently a senior at Calif. State University, Northridge. I have a voracious appetite and I am looking forward to a new food trip.