7 Things I Wish I Knew Before I Started Freelancing

Lessons from a full-time freelancer in this booming gig economy.

Francesca Angeles
The Everyday Freelancer
5 min readMar 20, 2023

--

Author’s photo; Just got off the plane as a traveling freelancer (wearing my face mask)

When I was a freelance novice, I was excited at the thought of being
‘my own boss’.

I jumped into it headfirst, eager to take control of my career.

However, as a full-time freelancer who has never worked a 9–5 job ever, I realize now that there were many things I wish I had known before starting out.

Here are 7 things I wish I knew before I started freelancing full time:

1. It’s hard to stand out in a booming gig industry.

It gets difficult to differentiate yourself from other freelancers.

It’s important to have a unique selling point that sets you apart from the competition.

I read an article pointing out how India is one of the biggest gig economies with more than 15 million freelancers, and growing to this day.

Even if we don’t dive into numbers and statistics, we all know this is true for all parts of the world. The global gig economy is booming. There’s probably a freelancer within a mile from where you’re standing.

Here are some tips on how to ‘stand out’:

  • Pick a really specific niche that you love (if possible).
  • Differentiate yourself. Don’t be a copycat version!
  • Underpromise & overdeliver. Client feedback is gold.
  • Network like a human being, not a robot.
  • Learn from what other people lack.

2. I should have built my personal brand years ago.

Your personal brand builds credibility, visibility, and client connection.

I started freelancing in 2019,

but only cared to build my personal brand in January 2023.

Since I’m relatively new to the talk of ‘personal branding’, I’m unapologetic in admitting that I struggled with it.

What made this such a pain for me:

  • I wanted to live a low-key life where nobody can trace my activity.
  • I don’t want family & friends to know I’m too opinionated online.
  • I was afraid other freelancers are silently judging me.
  • I felt that I’m not unique enough to have a brand.

But here’s the thing…

It takes less than 10 seconds to change your life.

Before I created my Twitter @franthefuture, I was hesitant and my reservations kept me awake for nights.

It took less than 10 seconds to publish my first tweet.

Now I’m grateful that I did that, but I do wish I had done it earlier.

3. Everyone needs their own website.

Your website is your safe space.

It’s an essential tool for freelancers to build a portfolio and establish an online presence.

Having your own website means potential clients can learn more about you, your services, and your work.

I started freelancing in 2019 but I only created my website in 2022. There’s much regret in that — where would I be now if I built my website earlier, right?

I’d be ranking good in google by now.

I’m not a techy person so having a simple and easy drag-and-drop website editor is perfect for me.

While you’re here, check out my personal website and let me know how I can make it better: https://francescaangeles.com/

4. I should have spent more time on LinkedIn.

They say it’s like Facebook for your professional life.

LinkedIn is one of my favorite platforms as a freelancer.
It’s also my top choice in connecting with other creators.

I’m not sure how intense your Facebook activity is, but if you have the strength to spend less time on Facebook, please sneak your way into LinkedIn. Like, right now.

Below I’m sharing with you some Twitter posts that pushed me to get better in my LinkedIn game.

This is one of my favorite threads from Matt Gray https://twitter.com/matt_gray_
A great inspiration on my feed, Niharikaa Sodhi https://twitter.com/NiharikaSodhi

Matt & Niharikaa don’t know me, not in real life and not online.

But that doesn’t stop me from sharing their words of wisdom to fellow freelancers who may need that little nudge.

5. There are many free resources to learn from.

They’re everywhere. All you gotta do is find them.

Let me assure you. There’s a wealth of free resources available for freelancers online. Learning is literally at the tip of your fingers!

As a self-learner, I enjoy self-paced learning.

Taking advantage of these resources can help you improve your skills at your own pace. You decide when you’re ready for new knowledge.

There are many platforms that provide free and accessible information.

My favorite? Youtube.

Here are some real-life examples:

1/2 — When I started freelancing, I needed to make my days productive because I didn’t want to work longer hours in a day vs the typical employed person.

I went to YouTube and learned about ‘time batching’.

Now I can work less than 20 hours a week. That’s a far cry from the usual 40-hour work week.

2/2 — Two months ago I decided I would try my luck in writing.

I went to YouTube and learned about writing on Medium.

Now I’ve crafted an actionable plan to write 5 articles a week. This is a good start for someone who’s not the best at writing.

It’s amazing how much information you can access online. The best thing is you take them for free!

6. Leverage a full-time job to fund for the first year of freelancing.

Freelancing can be unpredictable, especially in the early days.

Having a stable source of income from a full-time job can help fund your overhead costs while you build your client base.

The financial struggle of managing my daily budget is something traumatic for me.

I regret not having a full-time job before I got into freelancing.

I had to use my own savings to build my freelance career but this is something you can prevent. I’d suggest grabbing a full-time opportunity (that you like!), save money, and then quit when the time is right and you have enough savings to cover for initial costs.

Here’s a great read on transitioning from full-time to freelancing.

7. You will thrive if you have a specific problem you can solve.

This is something I learned last week.

Freelancers who specialize in a specific area or niche are often more successful than those who try to be a jack-of-all-trades.

By focusing on a specific problem or need, you have greater potential to be an expert in your field and attract clients who need your specific expertise.

There’s a 5-step formula to finding your niche.
(The article is 5 years old but is still very relevant and relatable at present.)

Ask yourself:

  • What skills or expertise do I have that could solve a specific industry problem?
  • What are some pain points in my industry that I can address with my skills?
  • Who’s my ideal client and what are their needs?
  • What special service can I offer to fill the gaps in the market?
  • What industry trends can I capitalize on?

Freelancing is challenging but rewarding. Many want this, but only some thrive.

By learning from the experiences of others, you can avoid common pitfalls and set yourself up for success.

That’s why I shared all these with you.

I’m not afraid to become vulnerable if others can learn from my experiences.

After all, the people I look up to are just as vulnerable. Their authenticity and honesty inspire me.

Remember to focus on building your personal brand, creating a strong online presence, and specializing in a specific area or niche to stand out in the gig economy.

Keep these with you while I have you here:
Determination, Perseverance, Willingness to Learn.

--

--