Side Hustles You Can Do In Your Pajamas If You Can Speak, Write, and Read A Language

These 3 jobs are best for my bilingual friends!

Francesca Angeles
The Everyday Freelancer
4 min readMay 31, 2023

--

Photo by Gabriel Gonzalez on Unsplash

Be in your comfiest pajamas or wear your best suit, doesn’t matter.

The only catch is these side hustles require language proficiency. Which means you can speak, write, and read a language with zero difficulty.

If this sounds like you, then you’re in for a treat!

I can speak, read, and write English and Filipino. I find it comforting to know that there are opportunities out there which I’m a better fit for versus other people.

And since half of the world is bilingual, I thought of sharing these awesome side hustles that might help cover a monthly subscription plan or buy you an iced white chocolate mocha from your favorite cafe.

Be a document translator.

If you can convert written material from one language to another without changing the context, this one’s for you.

You need to be

  • bilingual
  • culturally aware
  • an effective writer

And being culturally aware of the translated language is incredibly important to make sure you’re sending the correct message to your reader.

By becoming a document translator, you can take part in bridging the language gap. Most especially because the context of a document often is changed when you use Google translate to do the heavy lifting for you.

Screenshot taken from Fiverr feed when I searched for ‘document translator’.

You can also be an audio transcriber.

Where your role is to listen to voice recordings and type the speech into a text document.

For this job, you should have

  • awesome listening skills
  • fast and accurate typing speed
  • no difficulty in understanding accents

The last point is something people overlook, but I think it’s a skill that will make your transcription game better.

When I worked as a research assistant back in graduate school, one of my major tasks was to transcribe audio interview recordings into a Google document. Seems pretty easy but I actually had a rough time because the interviewees had local Pennsylvania accents. And since I wasn’t used to hearing that, I listened to the audio recordings at .75 speed — which made me spend too much time on my work.

Screenshot from Upwork.

Or you can try your luck at teaching.

If you’re in for virtual language lessons, you can help others learn a new language through fun video calls.

Give this a try if you’re

  • amazing in grammar, pronunciation, and vocabulary
  • patient and empathetic
  • quite techy

Although having previous teaching experience gives you an edge, you don’t need to be in the education industry to dive into this side hustle.

Teaching others to speak a new language can be rewarding. There’s so many opportunities out there and your clientele is diverse. You might find yourself teaching preschool kids about the basics of English, or adults who want to learn the 20 most important Korean phrases before they book that holiday ticket.

Screenshot of Preply website.

It’s a comforting feeling knowing that there are opportunities out there where you have a unique advantage. Especially in today’s competitive world, where you always wake up knowing there’s at least one person better than you at something.

At least, sometimes, that’s how I feel.

So, embrace the pajama-clad side hustle lifestyle and let your language skills shine. Whatever job you choose to take, remember that your abilities are unique and in demand.

I believe there’s a new opportunity for you everyday. You just gotta find it.

If you enjoyed this, I think you’ll love my story on 4 Side Hustles To Make Extra Money On The Side. I wrote this one 2 months ago when I received an influx of requests from LinkedIn connections about starting a side hustle. It goes to show that people will always look for ways to find more streams of income. So, if there’s even an inch of help I can share, I’d be happy to give that away.

--

--