Use AI Right And Avoid Becoming A Low-Quality Freelancer

Clients are weeding out freelancers who pass off AI work as their own.

Francesca Angeles
The Everyday Freelancer
4 min readMay 5, 2023

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I’m not an AI-hater.

In fact, I use AI at least 5 times a week.

But here’s the problem: So many people are using it wrong.

Ever been on Twitter and you see a wave of tweets that scream chatgpt-generated content?

Or how about on LinkedIn where people are posting content on ‘building a personal brand’ yet it’s so generic and bland?

The future of AI is bright, but don’t let that dim yours.

Why am I talking about this?

Simple answer: because clients are weeding out low-quality freelancers.

As the person behind The Everyday Freelancer, the last thing I want for you is to destroy your freelance career by using AI wrong. That’s a major no-no.

By using AI wrong, you’re putting your career at risk.

If you’re using AI, let me tell you, it’s a-okay.

But make sure you do it right.

Don’t submit proposals done through AI.

Your proposal to a client is the first handshake moment. Wouldn’t it suck for them if they’re not meeting the real ‘you’?

Clients are now very aware of AI and the use of it in the freelancing world.

How do they know this?

Because thousands of clients have already received hundreds of identical project proposals from freelancers. Basically, if your proposal sounds like chatgpt, consider it rejected.

Don’t let AI do the talking.

Clients have a problem they need you to solve. Which also means they need you to assure them that you understand the problem.

By copy-pasting AI responses when you talk to your client, it’ll make them feel unimportant.

“I’m too busy to talk so I’ll let a robot version of me talk instead” is the impression you’re giving. Not cool!

Clients are paying you for your time.

It’s not rocket science to respect them by talking to them like the real people you are.

Don’t pass off AI work as your own.

Otherwise, your client should have hired AI instead.

Passing off AI work as your own is like stealing your classmate’s homework, writing your name on it, and submitting it to your professor.

If that’s not such a relatable example, then imagine this:

You’re a client. You hired a Fiverr freelancer who can create a customized printable wall art for you. Checking out their profile and it says “5 years of drawing experience” and “hand-drawing is my specialty”.

You’re thinking “WOW. I will pay big bucks for wall decor that this person’s going to work so hard for.”

And so you place the order and give them 2 weeks to submit their work.

But then after 1 day, said freelancer submits a whimsical masterpiece using Midjourney.

Would you be pissed? I sure will be.

I use AI for ideation

Whenever I’m feeling stuck and uninspired, that’s when AI help kicks in.

Trust me, it happens more often than not.

I love using AI to help me come up with new, fresh ideas.

Using atomically specific prompts, I’ve found a way to leverage chatgpt and command it to generate a list of ideas that can inspire my future content.

The pivotal part: I stop at ideation.

My major rule is to never copy-paste chatgpt content and pass it off as my own writing. It just doesn’t have my voice, it’s not me enough.

If you use AI right, you won’t become a low-quality freelancer.

Treat it as a tool to help you work more efficiently and transform your career. AI can’t do the work without you, just like how a screwdriver can’t insert and remove screws without your hands.

AI has been around since the 1950s.

ChatGPT was launched on Nov 2022.

It’s safe to say that AI will be here for a long, long time. This innovation might have the brightest future ever.

But you don’t have to turn into a low-quality freelancer because of this.

Make the right choices.

If you enjoyed this, I think you’ll love the 4 In-Demand Skills To Boost Your Freelance Income. I wrote this story because I know some freelancers feel stuck and unhappy. With these skills, you might just find something that can bring the spark back. Lastly, please don’t hesitate to connect with me on Twitter and LinkedIn. I’d be happy to spend some 1:1 time with you to help you build a profitable and rewarding freelance career.

--

--