Design that’s “Too Smart”

🍵

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

--

I bought a new box of tea today. It was colorfully decorated, boasting about the soothing flavors. But chaos ensued.

The box had a perforated set of lines that was supposed to be a tiny door for the individual tea bags to dispense from.

The door was complex. The edges wrapped around the seams and before I knew it I’d torn the box apart. Standing there with a pile of tea bags across my counter I wondered how many other customers had done this.

If it was a simple open/close box it would’ve been fine. But they tried too hard. They made the box too smart. I’m sure the computer aided design mockups looked pretty. But the box is in the garbage. The tea is exceptional. I may even buy it again. And I’ll tear apart that box too.

Don’t over think it. Don’t make it too smart.

Follow the publication by clicking the button below. 👇

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com