Going a step beyond spec

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post
Published in
1 min readDec 21, 2018

--

I hired an editor to review a book I wrote. The editor did exactly what I was looking for. But there was still something missing. They didn’t add any commentary on the story. They didn’t take a step beyond what was required of them.

After all, they did just finish reading over 200 pages, I expected at least a sentence. Comments such as “Needs work.” Or “Feels a bit flat.” Would’ve been great. I hired an editor for feedback. That’s all I’m looking for. Technically they did give me feedback within the scope of the editing job. This is where the difference lies.

  • Proving you can do your job gets you hired.
  • Going beyond spec keeps you there (Or leads to a rehire)

This made me reflect in where I’ve given only my spec work. I certainly have done it. But it made me appreciate the value of going just slightly above and beyond the scope of work. Where’s a place you can go beyond spec?

Follow for free 👇

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com