How to Reject a Client But Not Burn the Bridge

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2018

--

The moment came suddenly. I was speaking with a prospective client about their business objectives. I realized what they needed was something I don’t specialize in. It was time to reject them and move on. But I wasn’t going to leave them hanging. I ended the call by telling them it wouldn’t be a good fit, however, I knew of some areas they could explore. I told them I’d write it all up and send it over the following morning. Their response wasn’t what I expected.

After they received it they were shocked that despite the fact we weren’t going to do business together I still dedicated time in helping them. Creating this resourceful document didn’t take a lot of my time, it was things I just knew from the experience in this field of work.

“What’s obvious to you is amazing to others.” — Derek Sivers

This wasn’t done as a chess move to one day get hired by them. Yes, it would be nice but really it was because I believe in honesty. I’ve been helped before in similar ways. The people that have helped me out are far more trustworthy than the ones who were expecting reciprocal action. Giving without the expectation of anything in return is the fastest way to build trust. I’m not saying to work for free, but if there’s something that’s obvious and easy to share do it. Eventually, the right clients or community members will find you.

You can follow this publication for free by clicking the button below.

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com