It Won’t Fit

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post
Published in
1 min readOct 30, 2018

--

I bought a new sleeping bag. It came within a bag to that keeps it clean when backpacking. A problem came up after its first use though. It was impossible to pack it back into the bag. I rolled this damn thing with the precision of a Cuban cigar maker, but failed.

I realized that this isn’t the only product I’ve had a similar issue with: ski bags, golf bags, gloves. It was a design intention to keep things near perfect; because, after all, it’s beautiful once it fits. The product looks great but the customer is crying.

Here’s the inherent problem with designing a piece of art but sacrificing the functionality: the customer ends up hating the product.

At the end of the day it’s the customer who owns your product. They’re the one who paid to own and use it. I’m no longer using this sleeping bag, it just won’t fit. I need something that works, and I found a company that allows this. Pull the throttle back on perfect and allow for function.

Subscribe for free.

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com