The Treats Social Media Feeds Us

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post
Published in
1 min readSep 27, 2018

--

My grandma had two Westie terriers. Both of which didn’t care for fetch. The only way I could get them to pay attention to me was by feeding them treats from a little ceramic jar. The more treats I gave, the more they came back. Over the years I’d watch them both swell and become chubby pups. They still required the treats to come over to me, it was never sincere.

The treats we get on social media are similar to what I force fed the dogs. They’re superfluous rewards that feel nice at the moment but never foster true connection. Too many businesses and people are focused on how many likes their content will get when they should be focused on the connection.

After all, treats are sweet but serve no nutritional value.

Be sure to follow this publication to never miss a post. It’s free.

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com