What’s The Price of Your Customer’s Email?

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post
Published in
1 min readOct 18, 2018

--

Would you pay $15 for 1 email address? Seems high right? That’s what I thought too.

I’m in Seattle today, so naturally, I had to see if the hype about their coffee is true. One cafe at Pike Place offered a free mug in exchange for my email. I saw the price tag: $15. They were offering this to everyone in line. Everyone said yes.

$200 worth of mugs gone from the line that formed behind me. I thought this was foolish at first, the cost of an email address being $15, but then I gave it more thought. It’s only given to the people at the cash register, you can’t find a hotter customer than that. They’ve gone through the sales funnel and now the name of the game is repeat business.

The mug bares their logo of course, a reminder of the brand and the story of the experience of their cafe. I’m sure the conversions will be above average in their upcoming email campaigns.

What does this mean?

Well, it begs the question: how much are you willing to spend on a customer’s email?

What can you offer them? If it’s remarkable enough, they’ll gladly hand it over.

Follow for free. 👇

--

--

Robert Maisano
The Everyday Post

Writer. Bylines: Motley Fool, Thrive Global, Business Insider, Thought Catalog. Author of the illustrated novel Crystalline. www.robertmaisano.com