4 Less Known Destinations In Portugal Worth Your Time

I have travelled around what I consider my new home for a while now and have actually seen more of it than most Portuguese people I met. Let me share some thoughts (and pictures) on where to go.

Hannes Grauweihler
The Expat Chronicles

--

Vila Praia de Ancore [image by author]

First, some rules on place selection

As you may already know, I am German. With that nationality comes a requirement to establish rules. So how did I come up with these places?

Less known refers to places that are not top of the list of Portuguese destinations. You did not come here for me to share what an original idea it might be to see the capital of Portugal. Everybody has heard about Lisbon and how lovely it is. Porto is a well-established destination, and so is the Algarve, with its beaches on the south coast.

In addition, some beautiful places became well known over time. Ericeira is the best example. It is a lovely place, one of my favourites in the country. But it is featured in so many articles that I prefer sharing less obvious destinations with you.

Portugal is more than just the mainland, as it includes the Azores and Madeira. I will focus on the mainland, though.

--

--

Hannes Grauweihler
The Expat Chronicles

Surfing, Finance, Career, Startups, Venture-Capital and some other things I got to experience.