5 Simple Questions To Help You Decide If You Should Travel Full Time

Francis Nayan
The Expat Chronicles
7 min readOct 12, 2021

--

Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

Being paid to travel the world? Having the freedom to spend a month on the beach and not having to work if I didn’t want to? Getting to fly to Mexico on a whim because the flights were cheap and I’d always wanted to go? Spending my Monday mornings jogging at the beach before hitting my laptop?

How many people would kill to have a life like that?

Me. About five years ago, I would have done anything (well, most things) to live that life.

Quitting the 9 to 5 hamster wheel and discovering the world is the dream of so many.

And I wholeheartedly believe it’s one of the best things you can do in life. It’s the best thing I’ve ever done.

With that said, full-time travel also came with a number of sacrifices I had to make along the way.

So whether you think about a gap year, backpacking, or starting a full-blown digital nomad lifestyle, it’s a pretty big decision. Leaving your comfortable life behind, or putting it on pause to explore the world is life-changing. There are pros and there are cons and it’s not something you can take lightly.

And while I love seeing people explore and stepping out of their comfort zones, a travel lifestyle is certainly not for everyone.

--

--

Francis Nayan
The Expat Chronicles

Former addict turned lifestyle freelance copywriter. 25+ countries. $10m sold. Writing on mindset, digital nomadism, and freelancing ➡️ thenomadnewsletter.com