7 Practical Tips I Wish I Knew Before I Started Traveling

Francis Nayan
The Expat Chronicles
6 min readSep 11, 2021

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

When I packed my bags and took my first solo trip to Europe, I had no idea what to expect. I was excited and nervous at the same time, and I just couldn’t wait to be there already. Of course, I made quite a few rookie mistakes that I could have avoided with a little preparation.

A couple of years and quite some trips down the road I learned a few things that I wish I knew before. If I could sit down and talk with myself on the day I left, I would give myself ( and you) these tips.

#1- Relax

Taking a leap into the unknown is scary. I would lie if I said I wasn’t anxious. What if no one understands me? What if I get lost? What if it’s dangerous? All of those questions were racing through my head. I wanted to be prepared for everything and be on top of situations that were truly out of my control. Which leads to a whole lot of unnecessary stress and anxiety.

Anxiety is reality multiplied by a thousand imaginary situations that most likely will never happen to you. It’s a fear of the unknown and your brain trying to predict what’s going to happen to prepare you for any occasion.

--

--

Francis Nayan
The Expat Chronicles

Former addict turned lifestyle freelance copywriter. 25+ countries. $10m sold. Writing on mindset, digital nomadism, and freelancing ➡️ thenomadnewsletter.com