7 Reasons Life in Spain Is Better Than California

I love living in a country where naps are encouraged.

Lyuba G
The Expat Chronicles

--

Photo by author

California is a beautiful place.

I grew up in Mountain View, and for me it will always be home.

But in 2013 I left to teach English in Paris, and never quite made it back.

Now I live in Barcelona, and whenever someone finds out I’m from California, they always ask if I ever plan to move back. When I say “probably not” they want to know why.

For many Europeans, California sounds like paradise, so they’re often shocked to hear that the quality of life is better in Spain, at least for me.

Below are the 7 main reasons why I’ve come to prefer life in Spain.

You are not your job

I grew up in the Bay Area. Whenever you meet someone new there, the conversation always turns to work. In fact, the first two questions people ask are “what’s your name?” followed by “what do you do for work?”

In California, people’s identity is intertwined with their work. Your job and income level often determine how you see your place in society.

I’m not saying this is a bad thing, it’s just a different mentality compared to Spain.

--

--

Lyuba G
The Expat Chronicles

Professional Copywriter turning life's adventures into stories about personal growth, writing & travel ✨