TacoTuesday

7 Untranslatable Words in Spanish to Know Before Visiting Mexico

and how to use them like a pro

Gladys Carmina
The Expat Chronicles
8 min readNov 30, 2021

--

Photo by 1983 (steal my _ _ art) on Unsplash

Welcome to Mexico, my friend.

Even if you are coming to spend your holidays in an all-inclusive resort in Cancún, Los Cabos or Puerto Vallarta beaches, please learn Spanish. You will not regret it, I promise.

After taking your Spanish lessons, you can come here to discover that what you learned has nothing to do with the Spanish that people talk in the streets.

Lucky you, because here I am to introduce you to real Mexican culture.

Spanish from Mexico has an enormous influence on the native language Nahuatl. And some words have been added within the time from a mispronunciation of English words too.

For example, I recently discovered that the etymology of the word RESISTOL which means GLUE comes from RESIST ALL in English. Wow, it blew my mind. Same with BISTEK, we borrowed it from BEEF STEAK. It blew my mind.

The list of words here is self-curated from my personal experience. As being a native Spanish speaker, sometimes I am not able to express myself in an accurate what with the words I am familiarized with. Occasionally, there is a translation in English but not quite…

--

--